Skip to content

日本のために・・・ For Japan

March 14, 2011

I have so little to offer in these moments. It’s maddening. I feel stretched so thin emotionally and I fear if I don’t find a release, I’ll dissolve completely.

Poetry, despite my lack of talent, has always been an escape for me. Words mean nothing in times like these but perhaps I will sleep a little longer tonight with my heart poured out into my hand. This post is more for myself than anyone else but I thought I would share.

日本のために For Japan

In this far,
far East
the mourning comes quietly.
The Land
trembles with our flooded
hearts.
The Rising Sun
splits
the blackest hours.

We are in morning now.
おはようございます。Ohayou gozaimasu*
to another day.

The waking from dreams
furthers the nightmare.
We long for a lullaby
as the sirens stir us from sleep.

The ocean has no bounds.
Trespassing into homes,
into families,
into bodies.
Its water spills down my cheeks.
しょっぱい。Shoppai.**

The earth breaks.
More fragile than our hearts.
Hope is not uprooted
as the tender trees.
Love is not buried alive.
絶対諦めない。Zettai akiramenai.***

Translation Notes

* ohayo gozaimasu – good morning

** Shoppai – salty

*** Zettai akiramenai – Never give up

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 1:12 pm

    Just so you know: this is beautiful.

    I wish I could emphasize that more.

    Beautiful.

    Thank you for writing it.

    • March 14, 2011 1:18 pm

      Thank you so much. I am humbled by your compliments and am honored to have been featured by you on your blog. I am grateful for the sympathy and the help I hope this stirs in people’s hearts. Again, arigatou gozaimasu. Thank you.

  2. Sheryl permalink
    March 14, 2011 2:35 pm

    I got your meaning completely and with a sense of melancoly.

    Very beautifully done. Thank you.
    SHERYL

  3. mike permalink
    March 14, 2011 3:55 pm

    Thank you for sharing this. This definitely reached the heart, and reaches our prayers. God bless you and Japan

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    March 14, 2011 4:34 pm

    Beautiful. That’s all I can say.
    Japan is in my prayers.

  5. Chantha Tina Sar permalink
    March 14, 2011 4:54 pm

    jenn! i’m so glad you are ok! i’ve been thinking about you and praying that you are safe. thanks for putting up the sites on your page on how we can help. oh! my spirit groans. Jesus come!
    -tina.

  6. lbarnes permalink
    March 15, 2011 4:47 am

    Oh, what a beautiful and moving poem Jennifer. Thank you for writing it. I felt every word in my heart and emotions.

  7. March 17, 2011 8:23 am

    Hey Jenn,

    I posted the link to your reality-article on my German Facebook profile hoping that many many more people will read your heart-wrenching words and donate for Japan. Just leave a short comment if you don’t want your blog to be linked there. I’ll delete it asap.

    I’ll donate as much as I can afford right now.

    • March 17, 2011 8:44 am

      Oh please post away~! Add any and all links you want! Thank you SO SO MUCH for doing your part to help! Not only do I appreciate it but the people of Japan are so grateful! I’m about to post a new blog shortly about how appreciative they there. I have also added a new page on my blog that has all the links I’ve gathered thus far altogether in one place. Feel free to add that as well! 🙂 Arigatou gozaimasu~ thank you!!!!

      • March 17, 2011 9:05 am

        I’ve added your Link-collection to my profile as well and wrote some lines about your efforts.

        I’ll have my birthday party on Saturday and decided to donate a part of the birthday money I had wished for to buy a new mobile phone. Guess, this one will have to wait. There are bigger fish to fry right now.

Trackbacks

  1. Small stone, Vol. 2, #6: SPECIAL JAPAN POST « Samuel Snoek-Brown

Leave a comment