Skip to content

Earthquake and Tsunami – The Reality

March 15, 2011


I feel like there is nothing more I can say except, please HELP Japan!

I know you are hearing the same thing over and over but it is because these people are in a desperate state. The horror and grief that has befallen this country in unfathomable.

Imagine every aspect of your life, your world entire, being literally swept away in front of your eyes and you are utterly helpless. I assure you this is not hysterics but a truly dire situation; I mean that with every ounce of gravity I can put into these words.

I urge you: do not only pray and send warm wishes but mobilize your sympathy into help – help that is so needed. I cannot implore you any more with my words but let me show you the reality of what has happened to Japan. Put yourself in this country and look out over the devastation. I dare you to be moved with mercy and assistance.

One less movie ticket this month. One less trip to McDonald’s. Hold off on buying those new shoes until next month. You world will not change but you may be able to change someone else’s.

MORE LINKS TO HELP~!!!

As a note, all of these charities have been vouched for by Charity Navigator. The article shows specific breakdowns of how the money is put to use within the charity. I’m trying to make this easier for you all!!

AmeriCares

Architecture for Humanity

Convoy of Hope

Direct Relief International

Food for the Hungry

International Rescue Committee

Save the Children (UK)

World Vision International

Mercy Corps

Operation USA

Oxfam International

Samaritan’s Purse

ShelterBox

I will continually be updating links and pages. Where you can offer aid to these precious people. It seems that things are only getting worse and more confusing for us here. The nuclear problems are beginning to raise fears even more. This whole situation is sensory overload. My biggest fear is that as the days roll on, people will naturally get involved in other things and begin to forget about us here. It happens…

I heard someone say “life goes on. As sad as that is to say and as wonderful as that is to say.” So true. Very profound. We cannot and should not always mourn. But this is our time of grief. Please, help us out of it.
It’s going to take years to even attempt to rebuild what was a lifetime of memories and moments. Please, please help us.

ありがとうございます。Thank you.

P.S I have read that online donations are actually the fastest and most effective ways to donate. Text donations have become very handy and popular and while they are certainly a very good option, it can sometimes take up to 90 days for the money to be turned around (since a lot of this has to do with phone billing cycles). However, I understand some people are still a bit leery of putting credit card information online so I will share these other options for some of the aforementioned charities.
*Save the Children is accepting donations via mobile phones; text JAPAN to 20222 to donate $10.
*Global Giving encourages Americans to donate by texting JAPAN to 50555 to give $10.

P.P.S. Anyone who knows me is well aware of my sensitivity to animals. While I most definitely place human life and need well above those of animals (and always will!), my heart also breaks for them and I remember them as well. The American Humane Society has set up a relief fund for animals needing shelter and care. You may donate by visiting their website.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gwynnie permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:26 am

    It’s heartbreaking, Jenn. I’ve tried to compile a list of links myself, too – http://gwynniegoesjapan.blogspot.com/p/earthquake.html
    I hope you’re OK up there. Everything feels normal down here in Hamamatsu, it’s almost creepy. My thoughts are with you all, and I’m trying to rally the Hamamatsu folk into doing something to help.

    • March 15, 2011 9:28 am

      I saw your post~! Excellent work Gwynnie!
      Nothing feels normal here. So many teachers here are from Tohoku… it’s overwhelming.
      I was hoping going back to work would help take my mind off things. The atmosphere has been very bleak. I’m physically fine but my emotions are shot.
      Anyway, SO GLAD you’re doing well! Let’s keep on working together to help! xoxo

  2. March 15, 2011 3:35 pm

    Bless you and the people of Japan, Jenn. I have donated money to the Red Cross and will do so again when I get my next paycheck. I follow coverage of this horror and continue to pray for all. I’m certain you have your hands full comforting students and friends. Take care of yourself. Teresa Lepore

  3. Ismail permalink
    March 16, 2011 2:06 am

    May GOD Help All Japanise really it so sad, all my prayers for u all ..

Trackbacks

  1. Japan’s disaster as reported by Expat Bloggers | Barbados Free Press

Leave a Reply

