Skip to content

Stop

April 18, 2011

I’m sick
to my stomach in my soul
and you say there is nothing to be done about it.
(But if I need to lose weight fast, there are,
at least, five 800 numbers to call.)

I’m weeping
brokenhearted, infuriated
and you scrutinize my pleas for mercy and just
dismiss me with the flag.
(But if I need a boost in my day, there are
at least, five different drinks you can dispense.)

When did my grande soy chai latte
become more important than the ribs I can
count on a five year old refugee?

Stop.

Stop judging
my femininity,
my political slant,
my eating habits,
my activism,
my spirituality
and recall,
if you can,
the last time you gave a fuck
or worried about faith, hope, and love
more than an expletive.

Stop.

When will they see our love
as much as our willing ignorance?
When will their corpses weigh as much
(on our minds)
as the rising costs of fuel?
When will human life break
through the barrage of endless euphemisms?
“pre-emptive strike”
“God-given freedom”
“encouraging democracy”
“political negotiations”

These colors don’t run.
Indeed they don’t.
Instead they flow,
coursing through the streets,
unchecked,
unchallenged.
RED
in the streets.
There are WHITE
faces of death.
Under BLUE skies
nameless
and forgotten.

We turn our heads
towards the grass,
greener on our side.
Green like Lady Liberty.
Green to line our pockets.

I, you, us, me.
Me. Me.
Forget them: We.
We forget.

Stop.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 2:58 pm

    Wow. Fantastic. And True.

  2. April 18, 2011 6:32 pm

    YES!

  3. April 27, 2011 10:29 am

    brilliantly done!

  4. May 26, 2011 10:56 pm

    “When did my grande soy chai latte
    become more important than the ribs I can
    count on a five year old refugee?”

    I love this stanza. Heartbreaking, and beautiful.

  5. May 28, 2011 12:43 pm

    Terrific words and thoughts Jenny!

  6. July 14, 2011 11:22 pm

    It's so sad, so true. The UK, too, is red, white and blue…
    So I know the feeling. It's awful to watch people eat up lies with their low-fat salad, pretending to give a fuck about liberty while we put on our clothes crafted by.. who knows who? Who ever asks?

    If you have the answers, let me know. I feel trapped in this brainwashed, material world, unable to do anything to break out, to fight it, to change it…

Leave a Reply

