Skip to content

Near and Far

April 18, 2011

(by the incomparable Dr. Seuss)

Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go.

I love to travel. It is one of the aspects that defines my life. For as long as I can remember, I have been planning trips. I still catch myself looking up as airplanes soar overhead, wondering where they are going and wishing I could hitch a ride. How grand that would be! I would simply stick my thumb up in the air and be lifted up and away, whisking off into adventure.

I have been fortunate enough to travel quite a bit in my youth. Seeing the world and being a global citizen is not something I take lightly. I remember so many different experiences both enlightening and challenging from my global expeditions to Mexico, Finland, Canada, Russia, South Africa, Kenya and Japan. I need to think back to those times and recollect, with great sensitivity, the lessons I extracted from each culture. I need to cling to the one lesson those travels pounded into my head – I am small.

I want to remember how small I am in this great big world. And I want to remember how small this world is in this great big universe. Only then can I appreciate how miraculous every connection between humanity is. There are overwhelming forces of science and spirit coursing through existence. Yet in some spectacular way, you and I can connect. That is how I want to live: connected. Community and creating a sense of home amongst the one hundred million differences found within two people is my lifelong pursuit.

I want to live connected to people and culture and art and history and all the little things in between. Learning is the best way for me to gain appreciation and humility. Only then, when I have come to better comprehend the beauty and mystery that surrounds me, may I begin to help others.

So let’s go feet…!

Kid, you’ll move mountains!
So…be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray or Mordecai Ale Van Allen O’Shea, you’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 11:06 am

    I didn’t realize you blogged, too! This is a wonderful post. Makes me feel lucky to have connected with you through twitter🙂

    @buckedbythestar

Leave a Reply

