Skip to content

Clarity

April 8, 2011

Sometimes I feel very confused and overwhelmed in life.

Don’t we all have those moments? Everything is going along just fine and then BAM! A wave of existential crisis hits you. “Who am I…?” “Why am I here…?”

Well, that sounds more like a case of Alzheimers but you know what I mean.

I know the kind of person I want to be.
I know the sort of things I want to do.
But occasionally, despite all of my best efforts and good intentions, I find myself grappling with confounding questions. It’s moments like these that I thank my lucky stars I live in Japan.

You see, everywhere I turn, I find such powerful truth speaking out to me. Everywhere I look, I see blatant words of wisdom scrawled across signs and T-Shirts. I’ve never known such a profound country. Perhaps it’s based deep down in the roots of Buddhism monks chanting zen… perhaps it’s emanating from the austere nature of Shinto.

Or perhaps… it’s just… Engrish.
Whatever it is… it brings me such clarity.

What the what does that even mean anyway?!? O_o?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 9:53 am

    Hi there,

    I have absolutely no idea what that tag says in the picture. Do you? Explain it to me please. ‘Tis a mystery. There seems to be an element of sarcasm in your tone but I couldn’t be sure because it seems so sincere at other times.

    But seriously, I find myself thinking the same things a lot of the time. One of the answers to the existential questions led me to do my MA in Professional Writing here in the UK and to try and find a career in it. Trust me, if you listen to yourself, the answers will come and once they do, do everything you can to make it real.

    I have read your other blogs in the horrible quake in Japan. Glad you’re alright. And I’m glad you’re doing what you can to help. I feel a bit helpless myself as I am an unemployed broke writer sitting in the UK. But I do wish you and Japan the best.

  2. April 8, 2011 10:08 am

    Hahah oooh! I’m so sorry! Yes, this post is sarcastic (at the end anyway). The picture makes NO SENSE whatsoever in English! haha This happens all the time in Japan. English sentences are butchered to the point of being incomprehensible.

    Thanks for your concern. I believe that even just praying for Japan can make a difference. Good luck with your writing! Glad to see you around my blog!

  3. April 8, 2011 12:20 pm

    Jen, please memorize the profoundly jacked message on the tag. The next time the busy body at work decides to own your soul, take her hand, gaze into her eyes, and repeat the message. Please try and shed a tear while you do so. I’m certain she’ll try and take up residence in some other Gaijin’s soul.

    I’m old now and I can pass on a bit of wisdom:
    You are exactly where you are supposed to be at all times.
    Most of life’s lessons are taught the hard way.
    Appreciate all blessings and bits of joy, small and large.
    Hot flashes really suck.
    ;}

    • April 8, 2011 12:59 pm

      Bahahaha! You seriously had me laughing out loud there. I think I shall do just that! Thanks for the words of advice. I take them to heart. 🙂

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    April 8, 2011 6:43 pm

    Well this might seem silly but I actually tried to figure the darn thing out. This is my guess, assuming that ‘it’ is a person.
    This person is looking up to the sky were the stars are shining brightly. They send their dreams up to the stars, knowing they would be safe up there. (I almost automatically think of Gemini Cricket- “When you wish upon a star…”)
    🙂

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    April 14, 2011 5:25 pm

    Would you happen to know when the Ganbare Nippon video will be done?

    • April 18, 2011 9:34 am

      No, I don’t. It’ snot being spearheaded by me. However, I am eagerly looking forward to it! ^0^

  6. April 17, 2011 12:10 pm

    I so understand what you are feeling – just coming out of the end of such a session myself.

    • April 18, 2011 9:33 am

      They can be trying times indeed. However, I find that I usually am a better person at the end of them. Good luck to all who are searching.

Leave a Reply

