Skip to content

春?Spring?

April 1, 2011

I don’t want to get my hopes up but I think maybe… just maybe spring is slowly sneaking into Hokkaido! After six months of freezing cold and freezing pipes, it’s a welcome change to say the least.

There are little signs softly whispering weather hope to me.

1. The snow piles are shrinking a little bit everyday.
2. Last night I was able to walk to the store without a coat!
3. Today the sky was actually blue rather than the giant grey cloud it transformed into back in November.

But the most wonderful sign of all… I saw something ALIVE today! Honestly, other than the occasional towns person scurrying around to get back indoors as quickly as possible, I’ve seen nothing else living. No animals, no plants. It’s been dreary. So can you imagine my delight as I was gazing out the window and saw this little face looking at me!

The warblers have come back to Atsuma! I was so excited I squealed… causing a few people (more engaged in work than I was) to jump. Well, just another day at the office for the Baka Gaijin (silly foreigner).

Still another two months or so until we’ll get our sakura (cherry blossoms) but for now I’m happy with the birds.

And everything that’s new has bravely surfaced
Teaching us to breathe
What was frozen through is newly purposed
Turning all things green

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lbarnes permalink
    April 1, 2011 4:23 am

    The robins have returned to my yard within the last week or so. I was so excited so I know exactly how your felt when you saw your first warbler. It really is remarkable each spring when everything comes back to life. I love spring!

  2. April 1, 2011 2:07 pm

    Cool post! I thought it was going to be warmer in Japan when I moved here a week ago, but it is still pretty chilly in Chiba right now. I hope it will warm up soon. I’m looking forward to the sakura blooming too.

    • April 3, 2011 2:25 am

      It seems the weather gods are laughing at me! After I posted this… it snowed.😛 haha Stay warm!

  3. 高槻(takatsuki) permalink
    April 4, 2011 3:19 am

    地震の影響で各地の桜まつりが中止になるかもしれませんが
    桜は必ず毎年咲きます。
    北海道はゴールデンウィーク頃ですね。

    さくら開花予想
    ttp://sakura.weathermap.jp/

    • April 4, 2011 7:48 am

      北海道にも花見はキャンセルするの???東京でだけと思いました!びっくり!あ!北海道に来るの?いいね!楽しんできてね!ウェブページありがとう!

  4. 高槻(takatsuki) permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:25 am

    大阪や京都でも夜のライトアップや夜店が中止になるところがあります。
    北海道は、、、どうでしょう?
    札幌の円山公園(まるやまこうえん)は開催されるみたいですね。
    ttp://www.sapporo-park.or.jp/maruyama/?p=1322
    花見spot
    ttp://hanami.walkerplus.com/list/doo.html

    >>北海道はゴールデンウィーク頃ですね。
    **北海道はゴールデンウィーク頃に桜が満開になりますね。

    私が北海道に行くわけではありません。行きたいですが、、(´・ω・`)

Leave a Reply

