Skip to content

助けて下さい!Please Help!

March 17, 2011


As I began my now daily routine of searching for reputable and new ways to help donate to Japan’s disaster relief, I was sickened and disheartened as I found these links. Nuclear scares and aftershocks mean nothing to me … these words are my biggest fear.

From USA Today – U.S. Donations not rushing to Japan
From MSNBC – Donations to Japan start at a slow pace
From NBC News – Americans’ donations not at Haiti level (video)

Again, I would implore you to act as though your family members were the faces on the TV. Speaking from experience, as one who lives in Japan, in the type of area that has been affected by the earthquake and tsunami, allow me to say something urgent. While Japan’s economy is certainly well developed and far removed from the conditions of the third world, the image of  modern, glistening infrastructure in Tokyo is not the reality everywhere.

The majority of people affected are fisherman and farmers and factory workers. The “inaka” as we call it, the countryside of Japan is a far cry from the bright lights of Shinjuku and Shibuya. I assure you there are no robot conventions in Minami-Sankriku. No bullet trains went speeding through Rikuzentakata.
These towns were cozy rural groups of cousins and grandparents. I live in the same type of area. Everyone knows each other, everyone helps each other. But when half of your neighbors are swept out to sea, where will the help come from?

Don’t let the car and video game industry turn you cold. Forgo that venti latte and help an elderly farmer who just lost generations of rice paddies. Skip that tacky chick flick and show solidarity with the mother whose children were crushed at kindergarten.

I woke this morning to eight inches of freshly fallen snow. My first thought was to those who are huddled in shelters. With barely enough blankets and heaters to go around, hypothermia is beginning to set in. Ease their suffering. I beg. As always, 助けてくれてありがとうございます。Thank you for helping.

UPDATED CHARITY LIST!!!
With most major, legitimate charities already listed on my blog (please view older posts for all of the links), I have begun to try and find new, creative ways for you to get involved with helping! Here are the new links for today.

    Please, give generously!

JEMA

United Airlines Donations

Hilton Honors Worldwide

Civic Force (Partly in Japanese, Google Translate solves this problem.)

Corter Leather Japan Bracelet

Japan Charity T-Shirts (Partly in Japanese, Google Translate solves this problem.)

International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies

Japan Center

    News:


Finally, I am in the process of setting up a new page on my blog, dedicated solely to links and information on how to help Japan. Also, I received an e-mail today from youtube inviting me into the partners program.

Dear nihonjenn,
Your video Jenn in Japan – Earthquake and Tsunami in Japan 3/11/11 might be eligible for the YouTube Partnership Program, which allows you to make money from playbacks of your video.

I am applying for the program now and if I am approved, I will donate every single yen I receive to aid the earthquake and tsunami disaster relief. I will keep you all updated and will pass along the new page blog and the youtube information as soon as I am able. ありがとうございます。Thank you so much.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gwynnie permalink
    March 17, 2011 8:48 am

    http://goodintents.org/disaster/why-waiting-to-give-to-japan-is-a-good-idea Have a look at this first, please! Sometimes flooding donations to multiple charities can do more harm than good, unfortunately.

    • March 17, 2011 9:01 am

      I know… I’ve read that whole thing too! I fully understand it as well.
      (But based off the statistics on how slowly people are donating, I figure I may as well keep putting things together for people. Maybe when they eventually come around to being generous, having a nice big list of places to choose from will help spur them into action.) xoxo
      You holding up down there girl? We had more aftershocks here today, too.

  2. March 17, 2011 3:48 pm

    Keep up the fight, Jen. Your blogs are welcome, and as you’ve seen, necessary! Bless you.

  3. mike permalink
    March 17, 2011 9:40 pm

    Thanks for te updates, and the much needed wake up calls. Like you said, its easy to wax cold when this disaster isn’t reality for you. Congrats on the youtube sponsorships, praying you get approved and continue to aid the disaster victims. God bless

  4. Kaitlyn Whitaker permalink
    March 18, 2011 6:02 pm

    I am very heart broken about what is going on in Japan. I am also very worried about how little people are currently donating to aid the Japanese in this disaster. At my school, my Japanese teacher, my twin sister and I are organizing several events to raise money for Japan. Our principal also talk with the organizer of our school’s annual talent show. all of the money we make from the talent show will be donated to Japan as well. Keep up the fight on your side too Jenn! Don’t give up!🙂

Leave a Reply

