Skip to content

津波 Tsunami

March 15, 2011

How do you pick up the pieces of a broken world?

By bearing each other’s burdens.

I would ask you to stand on this hill, with these people, and watch everything you’ve ever loved, to watch the people you’ve loved be swept helplessly out of your reach.

I do not mean to continually assault you with gut wrenching images needlessly. However the point is-

there is such great need!

This is very difficult to watch – so please consider how heartbreaking
it has been for Japan. Do not allow your heart to be hardened. Do not gloss over the pain and devastation with casual convenience. Allow yourself to be spurred into action!

MORE WAYS TO DONATE AND HELP! Please, give generously!
(All new links are being referred through reputable news agencies)

Global Giving International

Peace Winds America

Network for Good

CARE

Doctors Without Borders

IFAW

Australian Red Cross

The Japan Society

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 2:38 pm

    I have to post something in response to that video. But I don’t know what to post. That is… indescribable. I know a lot of words I could use, and I used several out loud while watching it, but none would be adequate.

    I am undone.

    Thank you for posting that, and thank you for expanding the list of resources for helping Japan. Please continue to keep us posted as you are able.

    • March 15, 2011 2:49 pm

      I will continue to add as many links to that list as I can. I will do everything and anything I can to help.

      I, too, am undone. Everything within me is breaking, seeping out my tired spirit and all I can do is cry. I am so fortunate to be okay where I am. Indeed, 言葉出来ない。(I cannot use words.)

      Thank you, thank you, thank you so sincerely, from the bottom of my heart for spreading the word about how to help. I appreciate it more than you can imagine. Blessings!!!!

      • March 15, 2011 3:05 pm

        I wish I could do more. Being a conduit feels too easy sometimes. But I will definitely continue spreading the word — I’ve shared this post on my Facebook wall as well, and I’ll keep sharing resources in any other ways I know how. If I find out about any options from over here (the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent are taking donations, and I saw this morning that the Emirate of Abu Dhabi is reaching out to Japan, for example), I’ll pass them along.

        It feels almost trite, now, to say things like this, with such a devastating string of disasters rendering such phrases almost cliche, but the world is with Japan right now, and I am as heartbroken as someone not actually there can be.

        Just an hour or so ago, I saw a teacher corresponding via Skype with news anchors on tv (I can’t recall if it was BBC or Al Jazeera — I’ve been flipping all over the channels today), and he was talking about how school has basically been canceled, not just because the children need to be with their families but because teachers are so revered that they fill a community role and need to be out among the people right now. Is this your experience, too? Have you been interacting with your students and/or your Japanese neighbors?

  2. March 16, 2011 3:36 am

    Every time I see more footage from Japan, I just think it’s unfathomable. To see houses washed away and the rumbling of everything being torn down. It’s unbelievable.

  3. 高槻(takatsuki) permalink
    March 16, 2011 4:20 am

    津波の影響が少なく、無事でなによりです。

    earthquake information
    http://eqinfojp.net/?page_id=66

  4. bethcams permalink
    March 16, 2011 4:37 am

    I feel so sad in this tragedy I saw the happening sin the news and the tsunami wave looks so mad…

  5. March 16, 2011 7:58 am

    Samuel – my schools are back in session. Tomorrow I’m going to be posting about what my first day back was like. Not my easiest day in Japan to say the least.

    Yes, it’s true that sensei are a very important role in the community. They almost act as surrogate parents. It’s an extremely personal, affectionate role that would never be understood or allowed in western countries.
    I’ve been interacting with my community and my students and their families very much. I felt close to them before but this tragedy has made us family.

    • March 16, 2011 9:14 am

      Saw the recent post, and I love it. Thanks for sharing that! I think the Japanese ideal of teaching (and your practice, from what I’ve read elsewhere on your blog) is very similar to my own views of teaching as a sacred social service, and I loved hearing a bit more about what your experiences have been in that sort of role. (And I was floored by your student’s video message! Please tell him that we admire his courage, both in speaking before the camera and in choosing to serve his country!)

Trackbacks

  1. 津波 Tsunami (via Jenn in Japan) « Samuel Snoek-Brown

Leave a Reply

