Skip to content

Halloween!

October 1, 2010

Hello! Happy Halloween! Boo!

YAY! It’s my favorite time of the year, the holidays! I feel that with Halloween, the holiday season really gets underway. I’m very excited about this year. While my days of trick-or-treating are far behind me, I am still looking forward to dressing up. I just got my costume together today.

My town is putting a Halloween party together for all of the students in the town. There is going to be a haunted house, bobbing for apples, face painting, candy… you name it! Japan doesn’t really celebrate Halloween the way western countries do, so the children don’t really get to appreciate how much fun it is. I’m very glad to bring a bit of this cultural treat to my area.

Here’s my costume!

Nyan~!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 5:31 pm

    😄 Your costume is so adorable! I haven’t even thought about costumes for Halloween yet; I really need to get to work on that! 😄

    • October 4, 2010 10:32 am

      haha thanks! 😄 I want to see your costume when you have it altogether! Weren’t you The Joker last year?

      • October 4, 2010 9:43 pm

        😄 Nope! In fact, I don’t think I was anybody last year! I’ve always thought about being Paprika, though. 😄 That would be such an easy costume!

      • October 5, 2010 7:55 am

        Hmmm– but Corrie– I DEFINITELY remember seeing pictures of you in a Joker outfit… .OR WAIT WAIT!!! Did you photoshop a pic of yourself into the Joker for the release of the movie?!?! Maaaaaybe I saw that and it stuck with me!!! XDDD

      • October 10, 2010 6:26 am

        😄 That is definitely what it was! I photoshopped my Facebook picture like, the weekend of The Dark Knight’s release! 😄 Good times! 😄

  2. Savannah permalink
    October 1, 2010 5:46 pm

    you look so cuteeee! i love your blush under your wiskers. what blush is that? :O

    • October 4, 2010 10:33 am

      Haha thanks Savvy! 🐱
      It’s Chifure, a Japanese brand. Super cheap– we’re talking 100Y! 😄

  3. October 1, 2010 6:32 pm

    kawaiiii! {nyao}

  4. October 1, 2010 7:54 pm

    super-kawaii!

  5. October 2, 2010 12:32 am

    Too cute! That is beyond adorable.

    • October 4, 2010 10:36 am

      Thanks! Typically, I wouldn’t do something like this. I’ve always sprung for costumes like Jedi or Hermione from Harry Potter (no denying my nerd factor). I’m used to whole costume shops opening up in town for months on end just to provide us with amazing ideas! However, in Japan, things like that don’t really happen… Halloween is just not starting to become popular. I had to put this together from accessories at a Claire’s store. I’m still not sure what to do clothing wise.

  6. October 2, 2010 2:54 am

    love your costume.

  7. October 4, 2010 10:27 am

    That is quite a costume.

    • October 4, 2010 10:37 am

      haha — it’s not actually my style. It’s a very, very Japanese style costume. But since there aren’t too many options here, I decided to be a cat. Plus, it’ll be easy to just wear a costume like what while I’m running around facilitating the massive Halloween fest my town is having me and another ALT host.

      • October 4, 2010 10:45 am

        My friend was a cat last year. It seems only black cats are costume worthy. I feel bad for the tigers and calicoes.

  8. October 4, 2010 10:53 am

    haha ACTUALLY, I saw some tiger ears but I couldn’t find enough accessories to really feel I was putting a costume together. I think it’s just because black cats have always been associated with Halloween. That’s why there is less variety methinks.

  9. October 8, 2010 8:44 pm

    Halloween’s caught on there?! Seemed to be pretty much ignored when I was there- or else I was in the wrong part of Japan.

  10. October 29, 2010 10:34 pm

    I only knew that they did a bit of something from a cute Anime I watch. 😄 How do they generally celebrate?

Leave a Reply

