Skip to content

The Weekend

September 27, 2010

It was an orange ink weekend. Let me explain.

When I was in high school, I had a beautiful set of colored pens. I would only use them when I was writing in my journal, always choosing the color of ink based on my mood. Eventually the pens ran dry but I still find myself reflecting on situations in regards to what color ink suits it best.

The TV Tower in Odori Park was illuminated in a rainbow of color.

So yes, it was an orange ink weekend.

I celebrated the arrival of autumn in Sapporo. I’ve decided that for my world, autumn’s color is orange. I think Sapporo agrees with me.

The leaves have begun to fall onto the sidewalk; the evenings are cool; a mixture of fruits and spices hang all around, scenting the air. I love autumn. Warm, woolen sweaters are required for evening walks now. The wind is chilly, making a cup of chai tea more than just an indulgence; it’s a remedy for frosty fingertips.

I am thinking of Halloween and hay rides. The trees have surrendered their vibrant green and are dressing in russet and red. The urge to decorate my apartment has rushed in and this week I am planning to raid the hyakuen store for glowing pumpkins, black cats, and spider webs.

I found Halloween stuff!

This weekend, I went to the Sapporo Autumn Festival. Hokkaido is an island rich in agricultural treasures and the festival is a foodie’s heaven. Farmers descend upon Odori Park from all across the prefecture, whipping up their most prized recipes. The Japanese love to celebrate food and I truly appreciate this part of their culture. The food here is dangerously delicious.

People enjoying the various foods from Hokkaido in Odori Park.

Sapporo is lively and friendly, inviting you to play and relax. Inviting you to eat. I feel like every time I turn around there are massive food stalls set up in Odori Park with some new excuse to sample “just one more” thing.

The weather has turned now. The pink chill on my cheeks mixes with the warmth in my heart, leaving the memories a curious color.

It was an orange ink weekend.

And even when the trees have just surrendered
To the harvest time
Forfeiting their leaves in late September
And sending us inside
Still I notice You when change begins
And I am braced for colder winds
I will offer thanks for what has been and what’s to come
You are autumn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 9:39 am

    Just discovered your blog and will try to read it bit by bit. I love Japan and all things Japanese especially Japanese food and decoration.
    Keep up the good work ! I also write a food blog with the above adresse!
    Nicole

  2. September 27, 2010 11:40 am

    Oh wow… the way you’re describing it it sounds irresistibly tempting. Now, I find myself longing for the end of October….

    However, I’m mostly looking forward to the snow in winter… *sigh*

  3. September 27, 2010 8:20 pm

    How funny! My journal is in coloured pens that match my mood. I love your blog – it reminds me of the Japan I love so much!

Leave a Reply

