Skip to content

Living in Japan FAQ

September 22, 2010

Well, you wanted to know! If you have any other questions, please comment and I will compile more answers into a video for you all. Thanks for watching/reading.

Blessings and Cheer!

UPDATE: I’ve included pictures for some of the things I’ve referenced in my video. 🙂

Kitsune Udon

Horikita Maki

Ueto Aya

Toda Erika

Finally, this is a clip of VS Arashi, the game show I watch every Thursday night at 7:00pm. Now, there is a lot of talking going on in the beginning. If you don’t understand Japanese, I apologize. After the first thirty seconds or so, the games kick in. This is actually one of the funniest episodes of the show I’ve seen. However, if you don’t know much about Arashi, you probably won’t get some of the jokes. That being said, the games look like so much fun! I really want to play them! 😀

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 7:26 am

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I totally understand the pizza-stuff though I’m more into Italian pasta.

    I actually have another question: What about the etiquette in Japan? (Hopefully, that’s the right expression.) I’ve often read about how polite Japanese people are and how quickly they can be offended by carelessly acting on “Western” manners. Y’know like bowing when getting to meet somebody or the phrases used when you i.e. give a gift to someone. If I remember that right one have to say something like “This is for you. It isn’t valuable but I hope you enjoy it.” or something. I hope, I’m not making a fool of myself right now.^^

    • September 24, 2010 1:34 am

      Oooh! This is a good idea for a video! Japanese Manners 101. Do you mind if I hold off answering for a bit so I can put a new video together? 😉

      • September 24, 2010 7:16 am

        I absolutely don’t mind but looking forward to it. :3 I’m way too curious about Japanese manners and etiquette.

        Oh… another question just came to my mind… what about the legendary tea ceremony? I’ve often heard and read about it but don’t know anything, in fact.

  2. September 22, 2010 7:56 am

    How nice you are living in Japan. Japan is on my travel to do list. Tokyo actually.

    If I ever make it there now I will have a reference to help me prepare.

    • September 24, 2010 1:22 am

      Japan is honestly a must see place in my opinion. It is truly one of the best travel experiences I’ve ever had in my life. 🙂 If you want any tips, let me know.

  3. September 22, 2010 8:25 am

    Can’t believe you don’t like Japanese pizza. How can you not like corn and tobasco sauce on a circle of cheese?!

  4. September 22, 2010 9:05 am

    I can not wait to visit Japan. and it is so nice to find a person with person hand experience with different things there. Some of the things you mentioned like the food and models and tv shows do you have links so I can actually see what you are talking about. It would be neat to see it, you say it so fast!!

    great video.. 🙂

    • September 23, 2010 2:24 am

      Sorry for talking so fast! haha I’m surprised I am actually because now I speak English so slowly! 😉 I’ll get some pictures up for you later today!

  5. September 22, 2010 3:36 pm

    My husband and I just went to Japan for the first (of many hopefully) time in April. We loved it!! I enjoy reading your blog and keeping up with your adventures. We’re hoping to go back sometime in 2012 and hopefully will make it up to Sapporo area.

    • September 23, 2010 2:23 am

      Japan is a great place. It’s a shame there are so few international tourists. 😦 There is a lot to see here. Hokkaido is beautiful. You will not regret coming here. Sapporo is a super fun and friendly city. It’s a loss less crowded and confusion than Tokyo or Osaka. If you’d like any Hokkaido/Sapporo suggestions, let me know!

  6. September 23, 2010 8:49 pm

    Love your blog J in J! And as to your post regarding the English Major compadres stomping you on the ladder to literary success, you will pass them by with your exemplary English and Japanese skills. Have fun.

    • September 24, 2010 1:25 am

      Thanks for reading and checking out my little blog. 🙂 I hope you enjoy seeing the silly stuff I write about. Thank you for your kind words; they are an encouragement to me. Cheers!

  7. David permalink
    September 24, 2010 4:14 pm

    When I was in Korea, I also missed pizza and mexican food . Corn is actually a staple in Korean pizza and the sauce was weak. Concerning mexican food, I did visit a small restaurant in Seoul’s Gangnam district called “Dos Tacos”– it was run by Koreans, so it wasn’t very authentic— I think they had a kimchi tacos :S I also love u-dong and tofu!!

Leave a Reply

