Skip to content

ありがとうございます!Thank you!

September 18, 2010

Wow! Over three thousand views later, I am at a loss for how to describe my emotion over being acknowledged by WordPress.

First and foremost, I want to thank everyone so much for reading and commenting on my blog. It takes time and effort to get through anything I write; I meant it when I said I am long-winded and wordy. I am very grateful (read: surprised, stunned, shocked) to have been “freshly pressed.” I’m not precisely sure how that little, self-deprecating blog managed to catch anyone’s attention but I am humbled by the praise it’s received. Having the opportunity to share my musings and ramblings about such an interesting country as Japan with new readers is an honor. I shall endeavor to keep your interest. Honestly, I feel an immense amount of pressure now to maintain a level of eloquence and wit with every new post I publish; I hope I can rise to the occasion.

Second, I want to apologize to anyone I have offended by choosing the word nazi to put in my title. As a lover of culture, diversity, and travel with strong pacifist ideologies, I can assure you that I do not take lightly the atrocities of the Nazi regime nor do I mean to poke fun at them. I have jokingly been referred to as a grammar nazi by friends all throughout my education and the term was chosen out of nothing more than a familiarity with its usage and definition. I regret any hurt this has caused and sincerely apologize.

Third, I am trying to respond personally to every comment I’ve received. I hope you can have patience with me as I am sorting through the massive influx of comments rather slowly. Rest assured, I’ve read every single word you all have written to me. I am greatly encouraged by your kind words and I am fascinated by all of the amazing travelers, linguists, and writers I have encountered in the last two days. Thank you for sharing your anecdotes and advice with me.

Finally, please know that my post was drenched in sarcasm. Not that I doubt anyone’s ability to discern humor, I would just hate to come across as legitimately conceited. The post actually came from quite a ridiculous origin; I was joking around on a facebook IM with a dear friend about how I used to be such a dedicated and passionate student in the English Department at our alma mater. He and I were both amused at my recent development of speaking “Nihonglish” (a term I coined by mixing the Japanese word for the Japanese language, Nihongo and English). I wanted to poke fun at my former reputation and I thought this would be an interesting read for my friends and fellow classmates. I had no idea this would be read by so many. I hope I was able to entertain and make you laugh.
Please know that most of the time I post blogs in a very stream of thought style of writing (aka imperfect and hurried 😉 ). I am encouraged by so many comments saying that absolute adherence to the rules of grammar is quite often unnecessary as the main point of language is communication and understanding. I do proofread every blog entry but I too am prone to typos and lapses in coherence. I hope that every single mistake I make from now on isn’t pulled apart and brought to my attention. 😉 I promise to try to not make a fool of myself.
Again, my deepest thanks to everyone who has read my blog and I look forward to the stories we will share and the dialogue we will have in the future.

Blessings and Cheer!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 4:50 pm

    To your nazi apology, oh please. Don’t do that. Don’t cater, suck up to or apologize to the masses, led by Americans, who cry offense! at the tiniest perceived wrongdoing. It waters down your writing and puts you in that terrible position of being led by the nose of the politically correct, the whiners and the wussies.

    The moment you start apologizing to the masses is the moment you water down, however imperceptibly, your own strength and integrity as a writer. Don’t do it. The problem lies not your word use, it lies in their perceptions. And the sooner you really get that and keep your own way against the flak they’re sure to throw your way when you’ve used a perfectly fine word, the stronger and better writer you’ll become.

    Separately, I didn’t see an RSS feeds widget for blog and comments (normally in a sidebar or footer). I and surely and many others would appreciate one to cut the tsunami of email notifications. Please? Pretty please?

    • September 20, 2010 3:43 pm

      /sign

      @Nazi apologies

      You’re so right. *nod*

    • September 22, 2010 6:24 am

      When I read your comment I had just posted one on this topic on Jenn’s “Badminton and Sushi”-Entry. Your words reflected my feelings towards this Nazi-stuff pretty well.

    • September 22, 2010 6:26 am

      Aaaaaah… *head desk* I’m sorry… watanabemisaki is my other account on wordpress and I forgot to change before commenting.

  2. September 18, 2010 4:56 pm

    To be clear, I meant a stand-apart RSS feed widget applicable to all posts and comments, not for only a specific post as it is presently. Just an idea.

  3. September 18, 2010 5:39 pm

    Oooh! I’m honestly still pretty bad at figuring out wordpress… haha Sorry! I’ll look at getting that RSS feed set up now.

    And thank you for your advice on the nazi topic. I was definitely surprised to hear people complain about it as I had never given it a second thought.

  4. Nooruddin Jalal permalink
    September 19, 2010 2:49 pm

    I love they way you express yourself and thoughts…:)

  5. September 20, 2010 12:37 am

    Don’t let the dolts, whiners and politically correct who will crypersonal offense in how a fly buzzes dictate or demand apologies where there is no wrongdoing and you’ll be fine.

  6. September 20, 2010 12:44 am

    p.s. good job on installing the RSS feeds!

  7. September 20, 2010 4:01 am

    I stood in line to graduate from unmentioned university with said WordPress-acknowledged blogger.

    Congrats to you, Jenn! I’m not surprised.

    • September 20, 2010 1:01 pm

      Awwwh~! Melissa dear! How are you? I am so honored to have stood next to you too! 😀 Graduation was nuts. Remember how we were both freaking out over outstanding assignments? Well, we finished! YAY FOR US! ❤ Hope you're doing well. Are you still in Florida?

  8. elhobejo permalink
    September 20, 2010 5:03 am

    Aunque quizá (¿seguro?) no me entienda, me es inevitable escribirle. De igual manera, me es inevitable hacerlo en la lengua que domino con soltura, pues hacerlo en inglés sería ir en contra de esa pulcritud en cuanto al uso del lenguaje que tanto parece defender, y en la cual a su lado estoy.

    Tan solo busco expresarle lo encantado que estoy respecto de lo que usted escribe, respecto de la forma en que consigue hacerlo.

    Cordial saludo!

  9. September 20, 2010 7:11 am

    I’m sure the same people complained about the Soup Nazi in Seinfeld. Pay no heed!

  10. thesocratesofsnails permalink
    September 20, 2010 9:45 am

    So you’re newly famous—good for you. I only wish I could be so lucky as to get a cascade of notice like that.

    And was there really someone who called you out for “grammar-nazi”? Isn’t that term fairly common parlance nowadays?

  11. September 24, 2010 3:41 am

    I got all your sarcasm. XD I throughly enjoyed your article! It’s me thanking you!
    It’s amazing how much pressure you feel when you have this much attention huh? 🙂 I’m sure you’re up to it.

    You may see me more, I love Japan, and I am an English Major. 😀 Looking forward to your posts!

Leave a Reply

