Skip to content

Addiction is BAD!

September 16, 2010

So I have a terrible problem. It’s beginning to get out of control. Well if I’m honest, it was out of control years ago. However I tried to be strong and fight my weakness and inability to “just say no.”

Tapioca Pearl Smoothies/Bubble Tea.

It’s a wonderful, terrible, delicious, dangerous drink that makes me wander wide-eyed, mouth slightly hanging open towards whatever stand or counter is pushing the delectable drug.
My willpower completley fades with every perfect, round, pearl I see clinging to the insides of tall, clear, plastic cups. I MUST HAVE ONE THE MINUTE I SEE IT!

*sigh* At least admitting you have a problem is half the battle right?
Well, to make matters worse, my town has been having a local festival at our shrine for the last few days. I must tell you now that there was a tapicoa float stand there… just waiting for me.

Hi. My name is Jenn and I’m a tapicoa float addict. Yes, it’s quite true that in the last two days, I’ve had five to drink.

>_____<

But they were only 300Y!! So cheap! How could I refuse? And do you see how pretty and colorful the stand was???

So pretty!

Now please note, I am not the only one with the problem. While yes, I may be found guilty of having a drink in my hand, so is the small child on the far right. I fear for her… my addiction didn’t begin until college. However she can’t be more than seven or eight years old.

Here I am, shameless indulging in a Mango Tapioca Float in Kyoto… HOW PATHETIC! There I was in the cultural capital of Japan and rather than sampling an old tradition, homemade sweet, I end up with a tapicoa float at the worst named fast food restaurant ever: City’s First Convenience Kitchen (does this make anyone else think of a soup kitchen for the homeless or is it just me?).

Can anyone suggest a good way to break this cycle of self-destruction…?!?!?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 8:11 pm

    Here’s another bubble tea lover! Although to be honest I think 5 in two days is not that bad ;p I know people who only drink bubble tea because it’s so cheap and they find it refreshing. I miss drinking bubble tea…making it yourself just doesn’t taste as good.

  2. September 18, 2010 3:12 am

    I’m living in Bangkok, and my recent addiction has become iced coffee in the mornings. The real problem is that I can find it everywhere on the street for about 50 cents, so it’s not even breaking the bank. They start by putting sweetened condensed milk in a glass, then add coffee, either instant (sounds gross, but it’s not in this case) or regular, and pour all that over ice, then top it off with more sweetened condensed milk. I keep telling myself I’m not going to have one, but every day…they’re so delicious! So, I’m sorry, I can’t help you with your addiction as I’m battling my own.

Leave a Reply

