Skip to content

Badminton and Sushi

July 15, 2010

Every Tuesday night I go out to Tomakomai and play badminton. It’s amazing fun and I’ve met some of the greatest people there! We’re quite an interesting group. Japanese, Dutch, American, Mexican, Canadian… everyone’s welcome! Badminton may seem like a sissy sport — especially to Western minds — but it’s really challenging and really fun! I was pretty terrible when I started, but now I’m actually beginning to see progress! I have a blast!

After we work out tails off, we usually go out and gorge ourselves on sushi! For 100Y a plate (about a dollar), you can’t go wrong! This is the beginning of the carnage we piled up…

And this is all of us enjoying ourselves! (If you notice to the left, our stack of plates grew higher. A total of 43 plates between 5 people at one table!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    Oh my god I miss kaitenzushi – thanks for the reminder with that pic. I remember the first time I went I saw one plate go by with this dried up piece of meat on it. My kanji wasn’t great, but I looked at the tag and thought ‘that looks like the character for horse?’. I asked my friend and sure enough, horse sushi. She looked disgusted at the idea, so I let it go by. I think I took the sponge cake instead.

    • September 16, 2010 5:03 am

      Oh my goodness! I could never eat horse!!! 😦
      I know it’s rather common to have here but I definitely will not be partaking. Actually, I don’t even eat beef or pork/ham. I only eat seafood. I was a vegan when I lived in America. I’ve had to make a few changes since moving here though.
      I love kaitenzushi! It’s sooo good. My place is Genki Sushi. Everything is hyakuen a plate! 😀

  2. September 20, 2010 3:01 pm

    Sissy Sport? I beg you pardon! 😀 Just got to your blog through the Freshly pressed-section and happen to like it very much. (I’m sorry if my English isn’t the best… to a former grammar nazi it must be annoying. [That post really made me smile.^^] I’m German and a real perfectionist when it comes to grammar, orthography and all that stuff. However, I still have a lot to learn in English.)

    I have been playing Badminton for a long time and almost every single time I got that damn shuttlecock smashed right between my eyes or at my lips. Everytime I came home bleeding I struggled to explain how a small cork-ball with some feathers could have caused these injuries. :3 And then… I learned to swat a ball myself… *hrhr*

    Hope you’ll have a nice day. 🙂

    • September 20, 2010 3:24 pm

      Oh! I definitely don’t think it’s a sissy sport! I was directing that comment at some of my friends back in the States who aren’t really familiar with the sport and though it looked a little silly. Badminton is so hard! I love it though. I play two times a week. I’m starting to see some progress but the technique is difficult. I have a total blast playing! 😀 Glad you found your way around here! Cheers!

      • September 20, 2010 3:29 pm

        It’s a pleasure. 🙂

        How long have you been playing since you started? I think the progress just takes some time. Hang on!

    • September 20, 2010 3:26 pm

      Ooops… just read your recent entry and it seems that you’ve had some trouble because you used the word nazi. And wow… I’ve used it, too. And again. *shocked* ^^

      I don’t mean to tease anybody, but since I’m German (and about your age) I know what it means to be raised with silent but omnipresent accusations about the horrible things some of our German ancestors did. My generation seems to be tired of taking the blame for everything because we simply haven’t anything to do with it. I’m not saying that the terrible events of the 2nd WW should be forgotten – quite the opposite. However, people should get over putting some expressions under taboo and generalizing the bad intentions of certain people over a whole nation. (I know, you didn’t say anything like that. This comment’s not especially directed at you . It’s just something I want to tell people and which lies pretty heavy on my mind.)

      In fact, the expression ‘Nazi’ is getting popular in German… i.e. we (my generation) often call somebody considered with education “Bildungsnazi” and he or she isn’t even offended.^^ It doesn’t have anything to do with disrespect… that’s just our way to cope with the circumstances.

      Whoa, this one got long… sumimasen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

