Skip to content

Japanese Food!

July 12, 2010

I love Japanese food– but sometimes, I hate Japanese prices! Grrrr! I love watermelon (not that this is particularly Japanese, in fact, I feel like it’s sort of an international standard food of summer)! And it’s very popular here. However, I have yet to eat watermelon because it’s so flipping expensive! The shape is also very different than the watermelons I’m accustomed too. Rather than the large oval shape, the ones here are much smaller and more circular.
But it’s the price that kills me. In this picture– the watermelons posted are worth about $17.00!!!!!! Can you even believe that?!? No way am I paying that much! I’ll just pass them every day and sigh wistfully… but I REALLY want to eat watermelon this summer!

The price conversion from yen to dollars is a little over 17 bucks!

Yum yum school lunch! This is a pretty standard example of the deliciousness I get to eat everyday at work!

Rice, omelet, salad, miso soup!

Recently, I went to a potluck party with my Japanese friends. SO much food!

Somehow, between three girls, we ate everything! The koroke and okonomiyaki were amazing!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 12:48 am

    I think my favorite part of Japan was the food. I managed to stuff my face daily with different things, and I still lost weight…

    If you haven’t yet, you should try some Soba from Nagano. (It’s their regional specialty.)

    Do you miss American food?

    • September 22, 2010 2:17 pm

      I do miss some American food! I just posted about it in my vlog today. 🙂 Real American pizza is definitely something I miss. Mac and cheese too! I also love Taco Bell– which we don’t have in Japan… and even though it’s supposed to be Mexican, it’s very American. haha

      I LOOOOOVE soba!! I eat it very regularly. I haven’t been to Nagano yet but I hope to soon! I have a friend there. Seems wonderful. 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      • September 23, 2010 6:38 pm

        Swordfish Pizza is one of the most memorable foods from Japan for me. It was at some restaurant out in the Nagano prefecture, and it was weird yet delicious…

        Tacos are remarkably hard to find anywhere except the American continents… I’ve had several friends beg me to send them tortillas and seasonings.

      • September 24, 2010 1:41 am

        Wow! Swordfish pizza. That doesn’t surprise me at all but I can’t imagine the taste! Aaaah tacos. I recently went back home to America and the first place I ate was Taco Bell. haha

      • September 24, 2010 7:27 pm

        I ate at McDonalds when I was in Japan because I was homesick (it did nothing helpful, and only made me crave real McDonalds)

        Swordfish Pizza was actually… surprisingly good, for being such a strange concept.

  2. Gwynnie permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:34 am

    I’d like to point out that for Japan, that watermelon is really cheap.

    • September 22, 2010 2:17 pm

      I know! It was on sale. I sometimes see them going for upwards of 3500Y! Oi!

Leave a Reply

