Skip to content

I saw the sign…

July 12, 2010

— and it opened up my eyes I saw the sign. –Ace of Base

Sorry for that awful throwback.

Recently, I was strolling through Sapporo, and I came across the most random street sign. Now this IS Japan after all, so I’m becoming accustomed to the bizarre. But this sign just didn’t make any sense to me. I’m not even sure what it’s warning you about.

The picture shows some male looking humanoid (with strangely pointy hips and a hat) walking around with a little girl who happens to have antennae.
WHAT DOES IT MEAN?!?! WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO?!?! No words (in Japanese or English) to explain it. Is it a cautionary sign? Is it denoting a location for something? Is it a crossing of some sort?

It’s probably just a pedestrian sign… but for whom? Apparently Sapporo is looking out for ape-men and their alien daughters. O_o?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 2:26 pm

    Pedestrian sign? Maybe. Danger stranger sign? That’s my vote.

    • July 12, 2010 2:39 pm

      Danger stranger!!! haha That sounds like a very possible answer! So many creepers out there. Beware the ape-men in hats little antennae girls!

  2. Danielle permalink
    July 12, 2010 9:12 pm

    I’m not in Japan, but a Google search led me to a very similar picture and it basically means pedestrian crossing. Although, it’s a creepy sign, no doubt…LOL!!

    • July 15, 2010 12:54 pm

      haha I figured it was definitely a crossing sign– I just find the Japanese aesthetic hilarious!
      Thanks for reading and for the comment!

  3. July 12, 2010 11:56 pm

    I think it is a warning that there are chikon (perverts) in the area…

  4. Menzie permalink
    July 13, 2010 12:52 pm

    It’s a pedestrian crossing sign. The girl is wearing a bow and the man is wearing a brimmed hat. You see these mostly near schools, sharp corners and barely lit pathways. There are school zone specific ones as well, but these tend to accompany them.

    Also useful:
    http://www.thejapanfaq.com/bikerfaq-signs.html

    • July 15, 2010 12:56 pm

      Thanks Keith! Though, I could have used that website back in March when I was first learning to drive here! haha

      I assumed the little girl was wearing a ribbon– but antennae are more fun! 😄

  5. Kei permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:30 pm

    You guys all have it wrong. This sign clearly means once you are old and have a front butt, do not attempt to impregnate children.
    Its just public safety is all

  6. September 3, 2010 2:29 am

    *laughing too hard to breathe right*

Leave a Reply

