Skip to content

My Own Backyard

June 10, 2010

I’ve been off here and there so much recently, traveling through Japan. I’ve been fortunate enough to explore through lots of different places here in Hokkaido, and in the Kanto (Tokyo) area of Japan as well. I’m heading back to Tokyo, and then to Kansai (the Osaka area) this summer for my school vacation. I have plans to visit Sendai and Fukuoka as well. For those of you not familiar with the Japanese map, that’s pretty much the equivalent of going all around, up and down the east coast of the U.S.

Every weekend, I usually can’t wait to get in the road, head to the train station and get out of town! I’m a natural explorer by heart. Even as a child, before I could take steps far off into unknown places, the words of Robert Louis Stevenson resounded in my heart and I longed to be an explorer.

“When at home alone I sit
And am very tired of it,
I have just to shut my eyes
To go sailing through the skies–

O dear me,
That I could be
A sailor on a the rain-pool sea,
A climber in the clover tree,
And just come back a sleepy-head,
Late at night to go to bed.” –The Little Land

All my life I have been looking off to the horizon, to see what catches my curious eye. I’m out the door, trying to wear out my restless feet the minute that work is done. Sapporo, Tokyo… I’m a big city girl at heart. I love getting away, far away, and seeing what I can unearth.
But today, I took a nice long walk with Nicole, who came to visit me in Japan. I got to see my teeny, tiny, insignificant town through her eyes. And I remembered once more that here, in the 田舎 (the rural sticks), is where the truth of old Japanese culture lies. I don’t have to hit the big touristy places to turn a corner and have my mind blown by what I uncover.

This place may not be of any importance to anyone except the residents, but it’s truly a good place.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan permalink
    June 10, 2010 5:04 pm

    😀😀 It’s beautifuuul.

  2. Carolin permalink
    July 22, 2010 11:30 pm

    🙂
    That’s exactly why I’d rather stay at a small town for my semester abroad in Japan.
    I reckon it’s much easier to get to know the people (extraterrestrial-bonus^^) and to get a glimpse at everyday life in Japan.
    I would still like to visit the big cities (having been to Osaka but missed out on Tokyo) but only for a length at a time so that I can leave once it gets too crowded for my taste (<- not really a city person)
    So you're a teacher?
    Are you there on a permanent working visa, or in a JET-program or …?

    • September 17, 2010 4:10 am

      Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. >_<
      I've been wandering around to all of the big cities. I love the fun, action packed pace of everything. And while I am admittedly a city person, living near Sapporo, Japan (the 5th biggest city in Japan) is a great relief to me. However I do love the small town, cozy, familial atmosphere of my area as well. I am working as an elementary school teacher by proxy of a company called Interac. I am planning on being here for at least two more years or so…🙂 It is very easy to get to know everyone, especially in a town that has under 5,000 people! haha

Leave a Reply

