Skip to content

My Japanese Birthday Cake

June 10, 2010

Today is my birthday, but over the weekend, I was in Rusutsu, a beautiful town surrounded by lakes and mountains. I stayed with a darling Japanese family, The Tomiya’s. They have been so precious to me and have acted as my tour guides throughout Hokkaido. The night before I left, they surprised me with a beautiful Japanese style birthday cake. It was covered with strawberries and roslets made of icing. The whipped cream topping was light and the cake was sweet and spongey.
Of course, being Japanese, they insisted on a thousand pictures… a one in the morning, while I was in my pajamas, without a bit of make up on. But — I let them play photographer. So here is me, quite surprised, looking thoroughly busted, but about to get my cake on! YUM!


One Comment leave one →
  1. lbarnes permalink
    June 10, 2010 4:04 pm

    Thank you for all you shared. The words, pictures, your heart. I love you.

Leave a Reply

