Skip to content

Probably the most romantic thing ever.

June 9, 2010

You know, I used to think that I had a pretty good idea of what matters most in a relationship. I thought trust and honesty, common interest, compatibility and love, were all vital. I find that I was completley wrong. In fact, I don’t think I could ever have been more wrong about anything. I’ve come to discover that what really matters most is something that never would have crossed my mind in a million years… obviously, my mind is too backward at the moment to really be prepared for a serious relationship, which is probably why I’m single.

I used to think that a good date would involve interesting activities that sparked the fancy of each person. I used to think that a good date would have easy going conversation and lots of humor. I used to think that a good date would be romantic. Once again… I am wrong.

You see, today at lunch, I was have a very in depth discussion with one of my elementary school boys. We were talking about people we like. He asked me if I liked any celebrity in particular. Of course I answered that I was already practicaly engaged to Aiba Masaki-san. (Arashi member)

Future Husband


My student looked at my quite seriously and said: “Hmmm… that’s a good choice for you. You would work well together.” baha –I was trying not to laugh at his seriousness.😄
Then I asked him if he liked any celebrities. He said he liked Becky (ugh) and commented on how much I resemble her… but I’ll save that story for another post.
Anyway, again he was quite serious and mentioned how he really felt seriously about her (ah youth! haha). So I asked if he wanted to date her. He said of course… but ultimately he wanted to marry her. I was surprised and asked him what he thought marriage would be like. (He is all of about 10 years old) I He said “very romantic.” I was tickled pink by his continually serious answers, so I pressed for more information. I asked him to tell me what he would like to do on romantic dates with his wife/girlfriend.
He became thoughtful for a moment, and then looked me dead in the eyes and said: “play Dragonball!”

And there you have it ladies and gentleman. Dragonball is the ultimate key factor to any serious relationship. And I’m happy to stand corrected in my previous, erroneous assumptions. But now, it’s
all clicking into place. In hindsight, it makes perfect sense.

This just screams romance.

I hope one day I can marry a man with as much romantic sensibility as my 5th grader.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicky permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:05 am

    Ha ha Jen, I love your blogs they are really amusing and interesting!

  2. Izzy permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:25 am

    That’s so cute! I love hearing these funny stories. Dragonball? I’ll have to remember that one…

  3. June 9, 2010 11:41 am

    Awwww! So cute! I wish my Nihong0 was good enough to have conversations like that… and that the teachers would let me talk in something other than English to the kids during lunch.

    And I totally agree with you about Becky. Ugh. Ugh, ugh, ugh!

  4. Rus. permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:37 pm

    Very profound. He sounds far more sophisticated than the boys at my school. I already know what 100% of the responses would be: “Sex. Hur-hur-hur.”
    Bloody teenagers.

  5. Ryan permalink
    June 9, 2010 4:32 pm

    lolol I have been wrong forever too. For a second I thought you were being all SERIOUS-TONE and stuff.😄

  6. June 10, 2010 5:33 am

    Perfect response! Serriously jen these kids sound awesome. I never really put much thought into teaching but stories like this make the experience sound invaluble

  7. hamiinjapan permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:23 pm

    He sounds better than most blokes I know!!

    Although I have to disagree. For me it would Yu-Gi-Oh.

    Glad you’re back up and running with the blogs my love x x x

  8. July 16, 2010 6:11 pm

    Now this kid’s got the right idea! 😄 For me and my husband, it’s mecha anime!

  9. Kei permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:23 pm

    If only we stayed like that forever.

    Want to come over and play Dragonball?

    …. he likes me!!!!!

    http://wakarahen.wordpress.com

  10. Masayuki permalink
    August 2, 2011 5:54 pm

    Ha ha ha!
    It’s almost 3 a.m., and I’m still reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

