Skip to content

My kids are the sweetest!

June 9, 2010

So every Wednesday, I go to T-Elementary School. (I have to use abbreviations for privacy reasons.
This is one of my two favorite schools. Don’t get me wrong… I ADORE all of my schools. But this is my teeny, tiny school. Only 7 students total. Yep… for the entire school.

Obviously, I know these kids really well. They are all so precious and we always have a good time playing and making crafts together when we aren’t in English class. Tomorrow is my birthday — and amazingly my kids remembered this after inquiring on my very first day (back in April)!

I was sitting in the teacher’s room during 6th period, doing lesson planning for next week, when I began to hear soft giggles and whispers and footsteps outside of the door. Suddenly, the door slid open and with a loud voice, my students exclaimed 失礼します!!!!! (shitsureishimasu — it’s a Japanese manner of announcing their “intrusion” as they enter a room… 失礼しました shitsureishimashita is used when exiting a room) And the next thing I heard was:

JENNIFAA-SENSEI! HAPPY BAASUDAY! お誕生日おめでとう!(Otanjoubi omedetou!)
Then they proceeded to sing to me! *I totally started crying!* Afterwards, they literally attacked me in a giant group hug. I was sooo touched! They all had made their own page in the birthday card, complete with adorable drawings and messages that made my heart swell. They said they LOVED me, and always would. They said they always have fun learning English, that it’s easy to understand, and that they love my smiles all the time! –Seriously, these kids are precious~~!~ ❤

I took pictures with each one of them, and their corresponding page in the birthday card (it looks like a little book… sooooo cute! I wish I could post those pics but I can't. However, this is a picture of the card. ❤ I love my students!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicky permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:07 am

    Ah that is so sweet of them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have no emotions but I would totally start to cry if my students did that for me. Small schools kick the big schools ass easy!

  2. amanda permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:36 am

    AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! How adorable is that!! I’m so jealous and excited and just absolutely over joyed for you!! You are making a huge impact over there in such a positive way. I’m so glad you are there living such an exciting life!

  3. Pablo permalink
    June 9, 2010 6:08 pm

    You lucky girl!!! 😉

  4. June 10, 2010 5:48 am

    thats a real blessing . awww

Leave a Reply

