Skip to content

The Japanese Farting Song

June 8, 2010

Yes, you read that correctly.
And yes, I’m aware how weird this is.
That’s exactly why I’m posting this.
Please bear with my rambling for a few minutes… it’s well worth it in order to enjoy the video at the end!

So everyday when I get home, I turn on the TV while I’m working around the house and making dinner… goodness I sound so domestic. The TV shows from 5-7pm are all news or documentary type programs. I really can’t understand much of what’s going on, and it isn’t at all entertaining.
But I came across a show aimed at adolescents… I’m assuming for anyone from age 6-13ish~. There are some pretty famous comedians on it. And if you aren’t at all acquainted with Japanese humor, well… it’s impossible to translate haha. The shows here are so bizarrely different from Western shows, especially American shows. But I find it very amusing and quite entertaining.
This show is seriously the craziest mix of everything you can (and can’t!) imagine.

Everytime the show goes off the air, they play a different song/music video that was created by the cast. So imagine my hysterical surprise when the main comedian (a male) dressed up in gyaru fashion and began doing a Para Para dance about farting! Now, there is A LOT of drag in the humor here in Japan. So seeing a guy dressed up in outrageous costumes, especially women’s wear, is not at all out of the norm.
And given the flambouyant nature of humor here, it doesn’t surprise me about the song material either… but that’s all in theory.
When I remember “Oh yeah, I’m in Japan now…” it all clicks into place and makes sense.

But still… I’m never going to be prepared when THIS flashes across my screen.
(I desperately hope this gets stuck in ALL of your heads!) English subbed for you all to enjoy.
–translation note: pu pu pu is the Japanese onomotopeia for the farting noise–

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 9:00 am

    I’ve seen this several times! And I was never sure if that song was really what I thought it was. And now I know that I was right. I don’t know if I should be happy about this or not.

  2. Vicky permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:42 am

    HAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s got to be the best blog entry EVER. Hahaha!

  3. Gwynnie permalink
    June 8, 2010 11:15 am

    Wow… thank you for bringing this into my life!! ^_^

  4. July 16, 2010 6:09 pm

    This is hilarious! 😄

  5. April 13, 2011 9:48 pm

    Farting is always funny, especially when it’s a loud smelly one! 😄

Leave a Reply

