Skip to content

先生になる。I’m becoming a teacher.

March 14, 2010

I am so excited that I am going to finally be a teacher! When I finally got my visa for Japan I was naturally thrilled. But it was seeing “INSTRUCTOR” written next to my picture that really made me begin to squeal and experience the intense wave of emotion sweep over me. I’ve been wanting this for so long. Granted, I never quite expected to begin working at an elementary level, but at this point I don’t even care. I already love my kids!

In fact, I think it’s actually going to be a lot easier for me to find some fun and adorable materials for the kids! I’ve been collecting lots of really cute teaching materials to take with me. I’ve realized how difficult it’s going to be to find English language teaching materials for that grade that are actually IN English.

Aren’t these cute? I just love them. Super cheap too!

My best friend Angela–who is an awesome reading teacher in her own right–helped me get some great flashcards with vocabulary, colors, and numbers. I also got some fun (and adorable!) workbooks that have alphabet drills and all sorts of fun, vocabulary building games. I really hope that I have access to a photocopier because I’d like to use these and make print offs for the students. It’ll be a great way to get them started at the beginning of lessons. I have so many plans… but I don’t really know how much I’ll have to do since I’ll just be the assistant teacher. We’ll see. It can’t hurt to have them on hand.

I also picked up some really cute easy reader books. I figured that once a week or so I can have story time with the kids and then we can have a vocab game with some of the words in the story that day. But my favorite part is that I was able to get my favorites! DR. SEUSS BOOKS! I seriously am such a huge fan of all things Dr. Seuss and I am thrilled to have a totally new group of people to introduce his brilliant works too!


And to my fellow teachers our there: The other day I went to visit an old professor of mine, she gave me a few websites that have excellent free lessons in English with really fun printouts! These may be helpful for you if you are looking for things to finish up the last five minutes in class or so. Here are the links!
Progressive Phonics
Starfall
Fun Fonix

All of this teacher talk got me excited to actually begin the school year. It’s going to be a bit of a wait for me though, as I will be spending about 12 days in Tokyo first.
My friends and I were using google earth to find my different schools–not thinking we’d really be able to find such a rural area with much picture clarity–and we were amazed when we was able to see all four of them. Something surged inside of me and I had a real sense of pride hit me! I’ve really begun to feel like a teacher for the first time.

Just call me Jennifer-sensei! haha 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 9:56 pm

    eeee~ you know all of your schools already?

    tee hee, I’ve been using google street view to drive around HALF of Agano. Because only half of Agano has imagery at that level u_u’

    Not long now Jenn-chan! We need to organise what we’re doing on the 19th deshou?

    Tanoshimi ni!

  2. March 14, 2010 9:57 pm

    The Dr Seuss books are a great idea! I might have to steal that from you. And I agree, you have it easy finding stuff for elementary level, I have no idea what to get for junior high school kids. So far I’ve just gotten stickers.

  3. Terrence permalink
    March 15, 2010 2:46 am

    I think ‘Schock-Sensei’ rolls off the tongue better.

    Thanks for those sites. Bookmarking for future perusement.

  4. March 15, 2010 3:23 am

    @Jennie –Yes I do! But I went ahead and asked outright how many I’d be going to… and my branch director just told me the names haha. 🙂 They’re very forthcoming with information if you just ask. ^^ Awwwwh–you called me Jenn-chan! XD That’s what all my nihonjin friends call me! hehe I love it. ❤ I'm so excited to see you. Yeah, shoot me an e-mail with what you're thinking about the 19th. Also, will you be renting a cell phone for immediate use? I'm going to. I'll be picking it up upon my arrival in Narita. I'll e-mail you the denwa bango asap.

    @Lauren –Dr. Seuss is GREAT! 🙂 There is so much stuff you can learn with those books. Since so much of it is dependent upon rhyme, it will really help hammer home pronunciation. I was also quite surprised to discover that Dr. Seuss really doesn't have a following at all in Japan… so you'll be able to introduce cute, crazy new characters!

    @Terrence –but I HATE my last name! 😦 haha Enjoy the sites! They're awesome!

  5. March 15, 2010 4:20 am

    Jennifer-sensei! :3 You will be an adorable teacher teaching adorable children!

Leave a Reply

