Skip to content

泥棒?Thief?

March 4, 2010

What has become of me?
I never thought I’d see the day where I would resort to thievery.
In the last three days, I’ve stolen five items.

Menus. Tourist Maps. Catalogs.

Yes. It’s dreadful isn’t it?
You see, I’m going to be teaching children basic English lessons and I’m going to need some good English materials. All of these pieces of seemingly disposable literature will be very useful when I need to come up with more creative ways to teach than simply drilling vocabulary.

So I’ve been on the prowl for supermarket coupon books and brochures with lots of big English words scrawled across the front. I’m sure I’ll be able to come up with some interesting dialogue games, very basic of course, but fun nonetheless. However… I’m not exactly sure how I’ll work this one into my curriculum…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 12:01 am

    Ahh the memories of Gatorland – the most scared part was having the flamingos try to peck at my shoes when gum got stuck on the bottom. Scared for life.

    I think I might get some London maps – good idea, thanks! : ) I will probably get some postcards of Buckingham Palace and Big Ben etc. I am still stuck on what to take for the teachers. Meh!

  2. Menzie permalink
    March 5, 2010 2:25 am

    I’m not sure it’s theft if they’re free :-p

  3. March 5, 2010 5:09 am

    You are insanely lucky to live in a really touristy place where you have that kind of stuff! I’m in a small college town, so we have no good souvenirs, maps, pamphlets, touristy things of any kind. I’ve got nothing!

  4. March 5, 2010 6:36 pm

    Awh Mark, go to the local AAA and gt some maps or something! Maybe you’ll be surprised with what is actually at your disposal!

    @V –you’ve been there too?? haha What on earth made you venture out into those parts?

    @Mezie… well, some of them might have been free. But I’m pretty sure my local restaurant is not exactly giving away their dine in menus… haha

  5. hamiinjapan permalink
    March 6, 2010 2:38 pm

    Jenn, I’m a fellow thief. Pizza Hut loses a few menus every time I go in. Pudding menus, evening offer menus and whole piles of takeaway ones. I have to make sure I have a big enough bag to hide them in 🙂

  6. March 7, 2010 3:10 am

    You’re doing much better than me…I left the UK pretty early as you know – didn’t even have time to collect ANY literature! Lame…

Leave a Reply

