Skip to content

Every single day, every time I pray, I’ll be missing you!

February 27, 2010

… What a throwback to the ’90s! haha

Several other of my Interac-ers have put up blogs about what they’ll miss from their home countries when living in Japan.
I began thinking really hard about this, and have randomly slapped this list together.


I’m going to miss Books-A-Million (and all English language book stores for that matter)! I definitely take going into a store bursting with literature that I can fluently read and understand for granted. I’ve always enjoyed wandering around and drinking coffee in the cafe. It’s such a central meeting spot for everyone in town. And I know I certainly won’t have such readily available English literature at my disposal in Japan. It hurts a little.


The Mall at Millenia! It’s such a beautiful mall, located in Orlando. I always enjoy shopping and window shopping. Now while I know that Sapporo has tons of great shopping areas, there’s a bit of a problem. I’m not at all a standard Japanese size! It’s going to be a real scavenger hunt in Japan to find really awesome and fashionable clothes that are made for girls larger than 100 pounds and all of 5 foot 2. This mall is home to some of my favorite stores like Forever 21 and Urban Outfitters. I’ll miss being able to just pull something awesome off the sale rack.


I’ll miss all of the wonderful things central Florida has to offer! I’ve honestly had it pretty well made the last few years. I’ve been within a 45 minute drive of Disney World, Sea World, Universal Studios, and Busch Gardens. Not to mention the beaches and great areas to just go do stuff. I’ve never once paid a dime to get into Disney and I’ve been there quite extensively for the last six years. I’ve enjoy all the greatest and most popular attractions in the world in my own backyard. And since I live here, there are always discounts and offers. It’s been a truly fun time.


I love Publix! It’s seriously the greatest supermarket chain in existence — and I’ve been ALL over. Everything about it is clean, cheap, helpful, well stocked, charitable, local, and convenient! I never thought I’d really have such affection for a grocery store… but I do. Publix makes life very easy and a lot brighter! 🙂


Now this is something from back home in Philly, but how delighted I was when a franchise finally opened up in my local area!!! Rita’s the best water ice on the planet! They have the most amazing custard… and well yeah. The logo says it all. Ice, Custard, Happiness! Maybe I should open a franchise in Japan. I’m certain it’ll be a huge success.


Okay, laugh it up while you can. But you KNOW you love wicked cheap burritos at 4:00am!
I was so sad when I found out that there just aren’t any Taco Bell’s in Japan. What will I do when I’m hungry and everything else is closed? I want my fiesta potatoes!!!

haha Obviously a lot of this is funny, but I really will miss those little everyday things I’m so accustomed to.
But more than that… I’ll miss my friends and family.
Nope. Not ready to blog about that yet… *sob*

4 Comments leave one →
  1. hamiinjapan permalink
    February 28, 2010 11:43 am

    I’m loving everybodies miss lists!! Am like you, dreading the thought of not being able to walk into a book store where I’ll be able to read anything. Maybe we should set up a book exchange or something, so when we tire of what we take over we can trade x

  2. Gwynnie permalink
    February 28, 2010 10:25 pm

    Heheh. A lot of those things are things I have no idea about, being from the U.K… but I’ll tell you this – there’s a Disneyland and a Disney Sea in Tokyo! ^_^

  3. March 2, 2010 2:32 am

    Here’s some good news. Most of the American bases have a Taco bell outlet and American products in the shop. Hopefully there is one nearby for those cravings 😀

  4. seishirou2candy permalink
    March 4, 2010 3:14 am

    Oooh, Rita’s! I love their Gelatos! We have a store right in Central PA and I’m definitely going to miss it!!!

Leave a Reply

