Skip to content

大パニク! (でも大丈夫) Big Panic! (But it’s okay now)

February 27, 2010

I thought I was dying of Tuberculosis.
Seriously.

But I’m not! YAY!

See, here’s what happened:
I went to go get my TB test done on Wednesday. The nurse was very friendly and extremely talkative. Rather than discussing the procedure with me, she inquired as to why I needed a test done and when I mentioned teaching in Japan, she flew into a frenzy of good natured questions. But like I said, she didn’t discuss the test at all with me so all I knew was “come back on Friday”.
Well, some strange things started happening to my body.
I developed a pretty severe cough on Wednesday and Thursday. ((I have pretty intense asthma and the recent cold snap here aggravated it, I think. Plus I did some intense apartment cleaning with a lot of chemical cleaners during those two days.)) And then, I developed this weird red circular rashlike bump on my forearm where the needle was injected. So what does Jenn do?
What else? Fly into an irrational big panic about not passing the TB test.
I vaguely began to remember that someone in my family died of Tb back in the 1920s… and well, that just set me off.
Honestly, death wasn’t the number one scare on my list: not be admitted into Japan was. haha

So I go back to the clinic on Friday and the talkative nurse asks me to show her my arm.
I did NOT want her to see my mark of the plauge!
But I had to.
She nonchalantly glances at the bump and says okay, negative and scribbles such on my paperwork.
I was quite confused. So I inquired a bit further about my rash.
She laughs and says the rash is a good thing, it shows I’m fighting off the illness and not infected.
Hmmmm… maybe that’s something she should have told me in the first place, so that I didn’t think I was marked for death…

I still have this rattling cough though… ~_^

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 4:56 pm

    “marked for death”…

    Sorry, I had to laugh a bit at that. Glad to hear you are surviving Schock Sensei!

  2. February 27, 2010 4:59 pm

    haha Hi Terrence!
    I’m still alive, and despite my cough, relatively well! 😀
    There’s a flair of the dramatic to all writing I think…

    Everything happens so soon, ne? How are you? You should set up a blog and join the Interac Facebook group! We have quite a nice group going! 🙂
    Mou sugu sensei ni naru yo~! *squeeee*

  3. February 28, 2010 4:21 am

    Ahhh, hahaha. I’m glad you’re not dying! That’s also good to know that that is what is SUPPOSED to happen, since I’m getting mine Friday.

  4. moko permalink
    February 28, 2010 2:43 pm

    I had TB test for my visa too, but I did’nt have a rash… Is that mean I will be infected easily??

Leave a Reply

