Skip to content

薄紙を剥ぐように。Little by little, slowly but surely.

February 25, 2010

Things are getting done! I really can’t believe it… but I’m crossing things off my To Do List.
I’m trying to take one step at a time. I think that’s all I can really do at this point. I am very relieved that almost all of my paperwork is done. After this, there isn’t really much more I can do except wait now, for three weeks.

UPDATED VERSION:
1. Buy some much needed luggage
2. Get TB test done
3. Mail out last storage box to PA
4. Get Tirian’s (my cat!) paperwork started
5. Buy work clothes (not just a fun shopping spree, but a legitimate need)
6. Pay off final February utilities expenses  (HALFWAY!)
7. Clean out the old apartment
9. Buy last minute items (toiletries, medicine) (Thank you Angela, best friend!)
8. Get mounds of laundry done
9. Sort through unwanted clothes and donate them
10. Get teaching materials/omiyage together
11. Get International Driver’s Permit
12. Miscellaneous things I don’t even know exist yet

I also have an update on my TB test. First off, it was very cheap. A grand total of $20.00!
This is so helpful because I have all these little continuous fees I have to pay for things and it really, really adds up! *sigh* I’m such a poor kid.
I went to a walk-in clinic with my best friend yesterday, and it literally took under ten minutes to do everything. The ladies there were very nice and extremely talkative. They were so interested in the fact that I am moving to Japan and they kept asking me questions. They were adorable. The nurse knew how to give a needle really well too, because I was looking right at it and seriously didn’t feel a thing. It was actually a bit surprising. I have to go back on Friday for the final check on it and the conclusion which will be that no, in fact I do not have Tuberculosis! haha

I also got my International Driver’s Permit yesterday.
I can officially drive in Japan starting on April 1, 2010. Though I most certainly WILL look like a fool that day.
I’m so scared… haha.

I look so white in this picture~! haha


I went to AAA and got my pictures taken and the application processed.
(I’m convinced that all of my official documents should read Snow Queen or something, because I turn out SO WHITE in everything!)
It was very simple. The lady who was working with me was a total riot! She was English and had quite a good accent! She was excited that it was almost five because
“the bars will be opening,” she said.
HAHA! Though, she told me not to drink and drive with a quick wink! She kept cracking jokes and quadruple stamped my permit. She insisted it was just to add a splash of red color and that no one there was even going to check it.
“A splash of red for you dear! I just wish I could have a splash of red wine about now!”
I was wiping tears away! It’s always nice when you get someone really personable to deal with rather than someone giving you the stink eye and the nth degree about something. Thank you random, British lady! May all your drinks be potent! Keep up your jolly old self!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 9:25 pm

    猫ちゃんは日本の生活が好きじゃないかもなー

  2. February 26, 2010 12:45 am

    Haha that lady sounds like a hero! I want to be like her when I grow up… I wonder which part of England she’s from…. she sounds like a Midlands girl😀

Trackbacks

  1. What to do « Back to Japan

Leave a Reply

