Skip to content

久しぶり! Long time no see!

February 20, 2010

Minna-san hisashiburi desu! Almost an entire week without an update?
Perish the thought!
I have missed my little blog community and seeing all your lovely updates and comments!
This will be a random post to be sure!

Recently, I moved out of my apartment and am now settled in to crashing on the couch with my friends and our combined pets. My lease is technically up at the end of the month, but I wanted to get a jump start on things. I do not want to get stuck procrastinating on this move!
I kept having nightmares that I was waking up on the day that I had to leave for Japan, and NOTHING was finished. I need my beauty sleep (cause frankly, some of us need all the help we can get!) so I thought that having more tangible progress under my belt would help me get back into a healthy R.E.M. cycle. (*sings* when the day is long and the night, the night is yours alone…)
I managed to get everything moved out, boxed up, shipped off, and stored in two days. What an accomplishment for me! YATTA~!
I still need to get back to my old apartment and do some intensive cleaning though. That’s going to be this week!

I definitely am happy I got the bulk of my packing done, but I feel like everytime I turn around, I have another thing to get done. Anyone else going through this?

The Japanese are rather famous for having a work ethic that puts Americans 1. to shame 2. into disbelief.
And it’s quite true that you will continually hear this adjective thrown around. 忙しい! BUSY!
Lately, it’s the only word fit to describe my life. ISOGASHII!

24 days. Yep… I leave America in just 24 days. I cannot believe. I still have so many more things to get done.

Here’s a to-do list of sorts — unfortunately with this list is also a new set of expenses. Can I hear a collective groan from my fellow ALTs who are desperately trying to save?
1. Buy some much needed luggage
2. Get TB test done
3. Mail out last storage box to PA
4. Get Tirian’s (my cat!) paperwork started
5. Buy work clothes (not just a fun shopping spree, but a legitimate need)
6. Pay off final February utilities expenses
7. Clean out the old apartment
9. Buy last minute items (toiletries, medicine)
8. Get mounds of laundry done
9. Sort through unwanted clothes and donate them
10. Get teaching materials/omiyage together
11. Get International Driver’s Permit
12. Miscellaneous things I don’t even know exist yet
13. Lose 40 pounds  ((impossible in 24 days))

At least I have the Olympics to keep me occupied while I’m running around crazed.
Anyone else watching? What’s your favorite event?
I just LOVE the Olympics, but the Winter Olympics are my FAVORITE!!! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
And can I just say, that Evan Lysacek is my new favorite man on earth? *swoon*
America’s Gold Medallist in figure skating… how does the ice not melt under all of this hottness?

Hello, Gorgeous!

I'm a tad bit more patriotic when we have Americans that look like this.😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 2:52 pm

    ALISTAIR SAYS “PERISH THE THOUGHT!” Quite often, actually.

    I love you even more now, okay?😀

    And whoa, smexy figure skating men. *growl*

    I woke up too early…hence the weirdness.

  2. Menzie permalink
    February 26, 2010 5:30 am

    Is it ironic that you live in Florida but love the winter Olympics? Florida always struck me as a place averse to the cold.

    • February 26, 2010 6:19 am

      Well, I only came to Florida to attend university. I grew up in Philadelphia, which at the moment is buried under snow. I’m quite the lover of winter! And yes, I adore the Winter Olympics!!!! But actually, it’s going down to 31 in my part of central Florida tonight! :O

Leave a Reply

