Skip to content

飛行機。The Airplane.

February 14, 2010

Well, now that my flight is booked, I’m getting pretty excited about traveling again. I love to fly… I’m so thankful that I don’t airsick. There is nothing more thrilling to me than being up in a plane, looking down at a new part of the earth. I’ve been fortunate enough to travel all over the world for my young age, but I haven’t been on a real trip since 2006. I haven’t been overseas since 2003. It’s been far too long.

The longest flight of my life was a 21 hour monster. It was a direct flight from Toronto, Canada to Cape Town, South Africa. I flew on South African Airways (an excellent carrier!) on a gigantic double-decker plane. They served ice cream Snickers bars on request. It was amazing! haha

So now, I’ve been curious to see what kind of plane I’ll be traveling on to Japan. I’m sort of nerdy and like knowing these things. My long, transatlantic flight is from Toronto to Tokyo. I’ll be riding on a Boeing 777-200ER operated by Air Canada. I am on Flight #1. Yep, just 1. I’ve never been on a single number flight before. It struck me as amusing. :

This is an absolutely massive plane! I was looking at the scale of the windows, trying to imagine my size in one seat compared to the full size of this plane. It’s a bit staggering because IT IS HUGE! It doesn’t have a second floor, but that doesn’t affect me as I wouldn’t be going up there anyway. I’m a coach class kind of girl all the way!

Plane Fun Facts:
Maximum Fuel Capacity – 45,220 U.S. gal (171,170 L)
Maximum Takeoff Weight – 656,000 lbs (297,550 kg)
Basic Dimensions
Wing Span – 199 ft 11 in (60.9 m)
Overall Length – 209 ft 1 in (63.7 m)
Tail Height – 60 ft 9 in (18.5 m)
Interior Cabin Width – 19 ft 3 in (5.86 m)
Diameter
– 20 ft 4 in (6.19 m)

HUGE!

There is a great website called SeatGuru.com. I highly recommend that you check it out! It shows you the seating map of every plane, like, in existence. haha
So all you have to do is select your airline, select the plane you’ll be flying, and then it’ll show you the good and bad features of every seat. It helps you to pick the type of seat you like. If you don’t want to be over the wing or in an exit row, it will show you what to avoid. It will also tell you if a seat has a limited amount of recline to it because of say, the lavatory behind it or a handicapped section in front of you. I’ve always used it and it’s always been helpful to me.

So here is the interior of my plane!

As of right now, I’m seated in 32B. This is just a standard seat, so I don’t have any real complaints. But I would really love to be in a window seat for my flight over. I like to lean against the way and get cozy to sleep. PLUS I really want to be able to look out and see Japan from the air. I called Air Canada and they gave me a code to check in online with and maybe, on departure day, I’ll be able to switch to a different seat. If not, I’ll be fine. But I’m hoping!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 8:47 pm

    Thank goodness you posted this!

    I’d forgotten to book my seat with Virgin, and hadn’t been allocated one >.< I logged in and there were about 4 window seats remaining! Now I have one… 57A… ahhh. Now I won't have some annoying git waking me up every hour to go for a wee.

    Also, what did you hear about the health test at training? You're so lucky you have a friendly branch, haha. I hope those are blood pressure tests and not actual blood tests! Oh god I hate needles.

  2. hamiinjapan permalink
    February 14, 2010 10:02 pm

    I’d forgotten about the health test 😦

  3. February 15, 2010 2:56 pm

    Gahh~~!~ Jenn, I’m so excited about this!! I’m flying Air Canada on a 777 as well (I’m also flight #1 haha). That plane is so huge! The one I’m taking from Pittsburgh to Canada is so tiny. 😄

  4. Terrence permalink
    February 15, 2010 3:29 pm

    From what I’ve heard, the test in Japan doesn’t involve needles.

    Nice plane. I like Air Canada.

  5. February 16, 2010 1:58 pm

    There is no medical in Japan unless you forget to bring your chest x-rays 😉 Better get it done in the UK its cheaper and less hassle.

Leave a Reply

