Skip to content

雑な部屋だよ!What a messy room!

February 8, 2010

Disaster! It's like a bomb went off in my room.

Alright, I’m packing… so that’s my excuse!

There are boxes and trunks and suitcases everywhere. This is seriously maddening. I thought you might enjoy seeing the deconstruction of my little world.
Now, certainly I’m not taking everything to Japan with me immediately. I am blessed with an awesome best friend who is willing to keep two boxes of books for me. We’re doing a lovely little exchange. She’s going to send a couple books to me at a time while I send her random Japanese stuff in return! She really wants a clear umbrella and some crazy Engrish T-shirts. It’s a nice little arrangement.

I still don't have enough boxes. Can you believe that?!

I also have to mail a few boxes to my mom. Thankfully she’s willing to hang onto a few things for me until I can afford to have them shipped (nostalgic stuffed animals and knick-knacks and whatnots). While I’m certainly thrilled to set up my home in a Japanese way, I also want to surround myself with my own special, familiar memories. I plan on being in Japan for quite a long time, so I’m willing to wait a bit to have my items returned to me.

I’m going to miss my apartment. I still can’t believe I’m actually packing all of this up to move to Japan. I’ve had three different apartments and two dorm rooms since moving to Florida. Every time I would pack up, I wasn’t moving far. I wasn’t even moving out of the same town. It sort of feels like this is just the same pattern. But deep down, I know better.

Tirian seems ready to go to Japan just like this...

I have so much more to actually throw away and get ride of than I thought… *tears*
It’s quite surprising, actually. I moved around this same time last year, and I remember getting rid of so much stuff! I just decided to throw it away for donate it to Good Will because I knew that I would be moving to Japan soon. I was so proud of myself. Now I look at everything, realizing I simply cannot transport 90% of my things to Asia… and I am not sure how that happened. I guess you accrue things during a year that you don’t even realize.

Thankfully, I’ve had my cat to help me out in the packing process. He’s a real big help… haha

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 10:43 pm

    Your cat is adorable! And I’m facing the same problems here. I have so much stuff! I’m still at the cleaning phase, where I’m trying to get rid of as much stuff as possible. Thankfully, my parents will hold on to whatever I can’t fit. It’s hard to decide what to take, though, isn’t it?

  2. February 9, 2010 2:59 am

    Don’t take this the wrong way, but I’m glad somebody’s room looks like a disaster zone as much as mine!

Leave a Reply

