Skip to content

私の小さな町!My Little Town.

February 7, 2010

An informative update on Jenn’s little town, coming to you directly from

…isn’t that fantastic? My teeny tiny town of 4,900 people actually has their own offical tourist association website! So allow me to share the ammenities and facilites Atsuma-cho has to offer for my entertainment! Hold onto your seats kids… it may be more fun than you could possibly hope to handle… !

First, we have the local inn and public bath! It’s only five dollars to relax in the onsen, or you can get 12 bath tickets for $50.00. I think I’ll spring for the $50.00 special! That way I can go once a month, something to look forward to!

Next, we have the Sports Complex! I can participate (for free, mind you!) in volleyball, badminton, and archery! When those activities aren’t furiously engaging the community, the gymnasium is open for basketball. I’m seriously considering learning traditional Japanese archery called kyuudou 弓道.

The last stop on our tour is the Star Dome! *ooooh!* *aaaah!*
Here one can play tennis and badminton, watch (or participate in) a soccer game, or use the exercise training room. I’m so glad to know there is a gym that I don’t have to travel far to use!

The site also included this adorable map of the entire town. And — !!!! To my immense surprise and delight, there is a 7-11. Oh thank heaven.

And the final thought is: yes it’s small, but I’m only going to be ten miles away from the sea!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 3:40 pm

    Waaa~ I’m so excited to come visit you!! 😀

  2. February 8, 2010 3:27 am

    Oh, man, it’s kind of awesome that they can fit your whole town on a little map like that. You will definitely know everything like the back of your hand in no time!

  3. February 8, 2010 3:31 am

    @Nicole ~ YAY! We’re going to have such fun times and experience real Japanese life! YAY for sister adventures… tanoshimi! ❤

    @Amarok ~ haha kind of awesome, kind of frightening … I'll be able to save a lot of money. And I'm sure I'll build really great relationships with the townspeople… wow… how rustic it sounds! XD

  4. February 8, 2010 6:48 am

    Sounds like a really nice place to live. I’m gonna go travelling around during our summer hols using the AMAZING 18-ticket. If I’m in your area hopefully u can give me a tour.
    You have a Konbini! Thats all you need!

  5. February 8, 2010 7:09 am

    Yes! I certainly live with an open door policy! I’d be more than happy to serve as tour guide and host.
    I’ll only be an hour outside of Sapporo, so there will be plenty to see in my area.
    And I’m only 30 minutes SE of the Chitose Airport. 🙂
    The 7-11 will seriously save my life. haha

Leave a Reply

