Skip to content

Atsuma上厚真 Municipal Elementary!

February 2, 2010

Alright, now I’m trying really hard not to get too excited about this piece of information, because it’s only speculation on my part. But I think I may have found the schools I’ll be working at! *squeeeal*

As I’ve mentioned already, the town of Atsuma-cho is tiny! And I’ve been able to access the offical town website (in Japanese) and found myself on their Board of Education page! There are only four elementary schools in the whole town!
Here is the information I found!

School Name
Central Elementary School of Atsuma – 126 students
Tomino Elementary – 10 students
Atsuma Municipal Elementary – 69 students
Karumai Elementary – 16 students

Wow~! So small! I wonder why they don’t just combine the schools…?
But here’s what is making me the most excited! I FOUND A PICTURE!

I proudly present Atsuma上厚真 Municipal Elementary!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 12:22 am

    it looks so big for just 69 students…what is IN there?

  2. February 3, 2010 12:28 am

    I KNOW~! I was stunned when I saw it! O_O
    And I really don’t understand why they have four schools… !!! Is it financially responsible to have all the running costs of a school for less than 100 students?
    I could see them, possibly, having two schools to make it easier to travel for the kids who are farther away. But seriously… I’m confused! haha
    Maybe they’re hiding their very own Gundam…? 😉 bahaha

  3. February 3, 2010 6:43 am

    Maybe the elementary/jhs and hs are all in the same building?

  4. February 3, 2010 7:07 am

    Maybe… though I still like the idea of an Gundam better~! 😉
    The town only has one high school, two jhs… but 4 elementary?
    Very strange. haha And from what I understand, Hokkaido contracts are very new for Interac. I know there were at least two JETs in Atsuma in the last two years, but I doubt they’ve had many foreigners pass through their town.
    So will I be the henna gaijin…? I’m counting on it haha

    Andy-
    in your experience with Interac, how likely do you think it is that I’ll be assigned to all four of the elementary schools? It seems rather likely to me. Especially considering that I won’t be going to the jhs or high school.

  5. February 3, 2010 3:23 pm

    Rural communities tend to be like that. Remember, I graduated in a class of 32 students! In elementary school, my whole grade had about 15 kids…and we had about 4 or 5 elementary schools. It’s not cost effective, but keep in mind that half of my class graduated with a GPA above 4.0, and my school district was one of the highest ranked (in grades and exams like the PSSA) in the state. 🙂

    They tried merging the schools once, and it did not go well at all.

    • February 3, 2010 3:24 pm

      Also, I had a 4.6 GPA and I baaarely made it in the top 10 in my class. And that was a public school! :O

  6. February 3, 2010 8:47 pm

    Yeah… it’s just crazy to me! haha
    I’m looking forward to meeting the little kiddos though.
    Jennifaa-sensei~! *squeeee*

  7. February 4, 2010 2:16 am

    If the elementary schools are close-ish together then there is a very high chance you’ll be going to all of them. Some of my friends have 7 elementary school and a few JHS but they only go to each elementary about once every 2 weeks.
    If you have to travel about between schools at least Interac will give you a car. I love my Suzuki Wagon R…. AKA… Sharlene!

    • February 4, 2010 2:55 am

      Oh yes! Glad you brought up the car issue!
      I was wondering exactly how payments and such are done for that between you and Interac.
      I’m quite looking forward to having a car again –because I haven’t had one for over a year. And I’ll definitely need one for how rural and remote my location is.

      Since there are four schools in my specific town of Atsuma, do you think that those are the only school I’ll be required to go to? I was told I would only be doing elementary, though there are two junior high schools in the town. What do you think the likelihood of my going to other elementary schools outside of Atsuma are?
      –sorry for all the questions! 😛

      • February 4, 2010 9:00 am

        If you are only doing Elementary you MIGHT have a lot of schools. Which means the kids will always be SUPER excited to see you all the time! I dont know anyone who only does Elementary so I really cant give you advice on past experience.
        The car thing is kinda weird. Interac will give you the car free of charge. You will be asked to take out a loan of 200,000yen from Interac to cover the car incase you drive off and dont come back. Interac will then erase the loan when you give the car back. Kinda like a deposit. Interac pay your fuel costs (plus a little extra, normally). You just need to pay Insurance (which Interac sort out for you). remember your International drivers licence!!!

        Dont worry about it. Interac take care of 95% of all the paper work. Taking of paperwork, Interac also make everyone a HANKO. It might be your first or second name in Katakana. I was super happy when i got mine. They also give you business cards but I have only ever given out 3.

        Feel free to ask any questions. 3rd graders are off doing high school exams so I HAVE LOADS of free time!

  8. February 4, 2010 9:27 am

    Awh thanks! You are immensely helpful! 🙂

    So… hang on, haha I have to borrow 200,000 Interac for the car? Or GIVE Interac 200,000 for the car?
    Because I’m already going to have to take out a loan in order to help offset my moving costs… because of the tight economy here, I haven’t been able to save nearly as much as I’d like.
    So am I going to have to borrow around 400,000 yen from them? O_o
    Do I need to bring extra money than I originally thought in order to get the car situation set up? *horror*

    • February 4, 2010 1:44 pm

      Dont worry! It’s a loan in paperwork only. Its basically a piece of paper that says: if you steal the car then you pay interac 200,000yen. You dont need to give them a yen if you return the car to them at the end of the year.
      Dont worry about it…

  9. February 4, 2010 7:38 pm

    Oh oh oh~~! *whew*
    Yokatta! I was seriously freaking out for a few minutes haha. (or hours really, as I went to sleep in before I read your comment!) haha
    That’s one more thing I don’t have to worry about!
    I’m also very glad to hear they pay our fuel costs! 😀

  10. February 5, 2010 6:52 am

    Aw that’s so awesome that you know your school already! And that’s kind of cool to have such a tiny one. It’ll be easier to get to know people and your students, I think.

Leave a Reply

