Skip to content

私の町は厚真町です。My town, Atsuma-cho.

February 2, 2010

この町は小さいだよ!This town is really tiny!

I’ve been researching as much information as I can about where I’ll actually be living and teaching. Finding good information has proven difficult because of how small Atsuma really is. Thankfully, I can search in Japanese and find a bit more information than there is on the English sites.

So here is a run down of interesting statistics!

日本 Japan
地方 Local – 北海道地方 Hokkaido region
都道府県 State – 北海道 胆振支庁 Sub-prefecture Iburi Hokkaido
郡 County – 勇払郡 Yufutsu
面積 Area 404.56 km²
総人口 Population 4,899

The town tree is a Magnolia kobus.

町の木!

The town flower is a Yamaguchi Azaela.

町の花!

The town bird is a Warbler.

町の鳥!

The town dog is an Atsuma Dog.

町の犬!

There is a country festival in June and a seaside festival in July.

I’ve never lived in such a tiny place before, but I’m up for the challenge!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 10:41 pm

    arigatou!!

    I like wordpress already 🙂 I love how you can see how people stalk you! It’s BRILLIANT 🙂

    I love the post you made about Atsuma… I want to do the same thing… but I’m not a blatant copycat! Haha.

    The picture of Sanjo I stole from their site. I hope they don’t mind ^^

    One of my gerbils is kicking sawdust all over my room. Naughty Humbug!

    I can’t wait until Japan~ 🙂

    Oo! Ps – you still have two linkies of me on your page. Could you make them one? That would make me happy 🙂 x

  2. February 2, 2010 10:46 pm

    Oooh DUH! 😛 haha
    I’ll fix that right now. Gomen gomen!

    Oh feel free to post the same sort of deal about Sanjo! I don’t care! 😀

    Japan is coming soooooon soon!

    Speaking of pets… you should check out the picture on my facebook.
    I had BOTH of my cats in my lap at once… bahahaha! Oh god… I need to get out and party in Sapporo soon, lest I become “The Cat Lady!”

Leave a Reply

