Skip to content

北海道のお天気は・・・ Hokkaido’s weather is…

February 1, 2010

とても寒いですよ!SO COLD!

Thank goodness that I grew up in the Northeast of the United States or else I don’t think I’d ever be able to survive! ((Though living in the tropical state of Florida for six years will definitely be putting a dent on my ability for acclimation!))
Though everyone who knows me has definitely heard of my complaints over the unrelenting heat and humidity in Florida. And it’s quite true that I would much rather be cold than hot.
Well, Hokkaido will be taking this sentiment to the extreme!

This is a satellite image of Hokkaido in winter. ((The red dot is around where I’ll be living!))

“Hokkaido is known for its cooler summers and icy winters. Most of the island falls in the humid continental climate zone. The average August temperature ranges from 63-72°F (17-22°C), while the average January temperature ranges from 10-25°F (−12 – −4°C). The island tends to see isolated snowstorms that develop long-lasting snowbanks.
Unlike the other major islands of Japan, Hokkaido is normally not affected by the June-July rainy season and the relative lack of humidity and typically warm, rather than hot, summer weather makes its climate an attraction for tourists from other parts of Japan.
The snowfall usually commences in earnest in November and will last April”

That’s half a year of winter!

It certainly is beautiful though!
I’ll be guaranteed a White Christmas.
In fact, it’ll probably feel more like the Hundred Year Winter in Narnia. *nerd*

I am in serious need of getting a parka and boots. I have very little winter clothing since I’ve lived in Florida for so long. This is an unexpected new expenditure. When I arrive, winter will still be in full swing. I wasn’t anticipating that. Though at least I won’t have to wait very long to see the sakura (cherry blossoms) come into full bloom! YAY! I’ll be able to attend my first hanami (flower viewing party) in a matter of months!
Any suggestions on wear to find very reasonably priced, but very durable winter outerwear?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. eaglet86 permalink
    February 2, 2010 9:19 am

    The thing with winter wear is that you don’t want to go with the really cheap stuff anyway. Trust the Canadian on this. Look for stuff with down-filling, or something equally warm. I’m not quite sure when winter will end in Hokkaido (have to admit to just skimming the post) but if you can get away with it, wait to buy your winter stuff. I think the stuff sold in your area as winter approaches again will be more suited to your needs, and by then you will be able to ask around and get opinions from locals about what you need. And you won’t have to worry about packing it.
    I will say this though: get a kotatsu. End of story.

  2. February 2, 2010 4:25 pm

    I want a kotasu soooo bad, and have for years!!! I was determined to buy one even if I ended up in southern Kyushu!😄
    I was definitely thinking to wait until I got to Japan for shopping, especially since it isn’t going to be winter in the States anymore (though because of that, I might find some great deals).
    But my concern is this– sizing!! I’m not at all Japanese in height and weight. I’m rather tall for a girl at 5’7″ and I’m fat!😛 Well, at least fat compared to nihonjin girls. I don’t know if I’ll be able to find a size that suits me…
    of course, winter clothes tend to be a bit fluffy, ne?
    I’m just afraid I’m going to die of hypothermia~! haha

  3. February 2, 2010 4:42 pm

    Hotmail is being lame and not letting me type in e-mails so thought I’d post a quick ‘hey’ here!

    I have no idea what I’ll do about clothes for winter… we only get 23kgs of luggage. I wonder if my parents will be nice enough to post huge boxes of stuff out at British Royal Mail prices >.<

    I'm sure you already know originally from Philly… but… LAYERS!! Especially look after your toes and hands🙂 The losing heat out of your head thing is a myth, so don't worry about hats to mess your hair up (unless you want to protect your hair from frizzing out in the snow!)

    Also, toasty pyjamas for nighttime in case the heating isn't great in your place🙂

    So… umm… what do we think of latest placement gossip? Your gossip? Another person's placement gossip? You can e-mail me if you like, I'm going to switch my laptop off for a bit in a vain attempt to get my internet working again🙂

    After I figure out how I can search blogger for other blogspots… or something. Or make mine more famous. I don't know. I want more readers😀 My Keio Uni myspace blog got loads!

    Jennie x

  4. February 2, 2010 5:40 pm

    Oooh yes!
    I am e-mailing you now~~!~❤

  5. February 2, 2010 10:22 pm

    *waves*

    look what I made!

Trackbacks

  1. 北海道のお天気は・・・ Hokkaido’s weather is… »Coolweather

Leave a Reply

