Skip to content

我慢しなさい!Be Patient!

January 31, 2010

One of the weaknesses I struggle with in my life is control. Plainly put: I hate feeling like I don’t have any!
It’s not that I need to control others, but I don’t like feeling out of control in regards to my own life. Maybe one reason I’m not good with math is because I don’t handle variables very well… ((forgive the terrible math humor!))

I like having things planned out and meticulously detailed miles in advance.
But sometimes, there are some things which are just out of our control and require us to exercise tremendous amounts of patience. I am afraid I will be learning the lessons of this virtue for the rest of my life.

All of this is to say — I am waiting for a very important e-mail or phone call from Interac.
It’s so odd to me that the next year of my life will all be coming down to one piece of information: my location placement.

Naturally, I am quite anxious to hear about this piece of news. Several of my friends already know where they are being placed. Every time I check the 2010 ALTs Facebook page, more and more people are announcing their locations. I have already been in touch with Interac about my placement process, and I know they are working on my file, but there is still no definitive answer about anything yet. Waiting over the weekend was trying to say the least. I hope to hear something very soon. In fact, since I am 14 hours behind Tokyo, there is a possibility that I may be receiving an update as soon as this evening, as it will be Monday morning in Japan then. Who knows?

Well, I certainly don’t!
I don’t exactly know what everyone’s location preferences were so I can’t tell if people have been generally put into areas they were hoping for or not. I also know that the ALT market is steadily becoming more and more crowded, leaving extremely remote and rural locations for the new recruits. So I’m expecting the countryside for sure. Time will tell exactly how isolated I’ll really be… but I can make anything work if I have to!

The only thing I’m struggling with is this waiting game.
I know it’s a very normal part of the process, but that doesn’t make it any easier.
I’ll update as soon as I hear any information.

Romans 8:25
But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry Jester, Jr. permalink
    February 1, 2010 3:19 am

    Man,

    What an awesome blog post! Sure enough today was the day you got your placement! God works in big ways and I pray he shows you big things that are to come in Hokkaido!

  2. Terrence permalink
    February 1, 2010 3:53 am

    So how was the Japanese language chat?

    Also, what happened with the first call you received about placement?

  3. February 1, 2010 4:51 am

    Thanks Terry! I am quite excited. Have you been placed yet?

    Terrence – the phone call went just fine!🙂
    I was nervous, but Hori-san was great! About the first phone call, I didn’t accept the position they gave me immediately because I had a few questions and concerns. I have been awaiting the office to get back in touch with me so that I could decide what I was going to do. But now everything is resolved, and I am off to Hokkaido. Have you been placed yet?

  4. Terry Jester, Jr. permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:31 am

    Haven’t been placed yet, but I have to say I feel exactly the same way as you did in this blog.

    It’s crazy, my contacts in Japan–even my own parents–are telling me to relax. But it really is as you say, one phone call is going to determine the next year of my life! That’s no small potatoes, unless of course you live in Japan already, or you are firmly rooted where you are and have no desire to go to Japan.

    I’m glad someone out there felt the same way I do now!

Leave a Reply

