Skip to content

How do you say tuberculosis in Japanese?

January 21, 2010

結核  【けっかく】  kekkaku (n) tuberculosis

At least that’s how I think you say it… not entirely sure to be honest.

But anyway, before I go to Japan I need to get tested for tuberculosis.  したくないよ!I don’t want to!
I told them I really really really don’t have TB, but those crazy heads don’t believe me until it’s in writing.
Has anyone gotten a TB test before? What does it entail? I’ve read that it’s a skin test, so I’m assuming there are large pointy needles that must be inserted into my skin… excellent.
I’m also wondering how much it will cost.

It can’t be much worse than when I was getting ready to go to Kenya though.
I had to get Hep A and Hep B, Yellowfever, Rabies, and Typhoid shots all in one day.
Funny that I still ended up getting mono…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 10:31 pm

    I have to get one, too, onee-chan!😦 For my teaching clearances. *sigh*
    Anyway, though I’ve never had one done, I’ve seen what the area looks like after, and it’s not pretty. D: I think the girl had sensitive skin, though. She said it wasn’t THAT painful. X(

  2. January 22, 2010 12:36 am

    It’s not too bad! Basically they inject directly underneath your skin on your arm, and it forms a bump there. Then you go back in 2-4 days to have them look at your arm, and if you have a swollen bump, bad news for you. If it’s clearing up, then you’re OK.

  3. January 22, 2010 12:45 am

    Oooh!
    Hmmm… does it itch? I mean, whatever they inject into you. Is it irritating for those few days?

  4. eaglet86 permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:02 am

    That’s weird! The JET Programme only required us to send in an x-ray of our lungs. That was the only thing we heard about TB. No needles or anything invasive like that.
    If you’re truly terrified of needles, or have a sensitivity to injections, maybe ask if an x-ray would suffice?

  5. January 22, 2010 7:01 pm

    hey Jenn!

    woo, finally, the Brits got an e-mail update! It sounds like it was different to yours, they didn’t give us any dates, just, “March”. It had some other accommodation, training info, too. Sound a bit like yours? We could always swap e-mails and see if it’s the same stuff🙂

    I had the TB test when I was vaccinated at around 13. It’s like a little circle of 6 needles, you honestly don’t feel a thing. Before I went to study in Japan I got an x-ray done and it cost me £90… probably about $160? Maybe the Mantoux test will be cheaper over there, as it is here. You can’t get it done on the NHS here (we get like free healthcare and stuff), so I’m gonna have to pay for it. booooo. Now to find a private clinic that does something like that!

    Still no phone call for Japanese >.< I have got up at 6:50am the past two mornings… it hurts so bad!

  6. January 22, 2010 7:01 pm

    Really, just an x-ray?
    That is interesting. I’m not really terrified of needles. I’ve traveled so much that I’ve gotten soooo many vaccinations. I’m used to it. But no one particularly *likes* them now do they? haha The problem is, I don’t have health insurance here in the States, so I’m worried about how much I’m going to have to shell out.

  7. January 22, 2010 7:07 pm

    Hey Jennie! (by the way, I added a girl named JennieinJapan on Twitter… and I realized it’s NOT you! haha How awkard!)

    Hmmm, I didn’t get much info on accommodations or training. Only that it would last 3-4 days. Let’s swap. My e-mail is
    missjennifer610@live.com

    The dates they gave me were suggested, tentative dates. But they still gave a window of time… so I think you’ll appreciate the information. OH! And I also got a follow up e-mail explaining that I hadn’t been deferred… so that’s good. I’m still set for March.

    No Nihongo test yet eh? I am lucky, I requested a specific day and Yukiko-san I could receive the call on that day, between 8-11pm my time.

  8. January 22, 2010 7:10 pm

    –actually… I JUST checked my inbox and I have a new e-mail — so maybe it’s the same stuff? I haven’t read it yet… but still feel free to forward yours over if you like.

  9. January 22, 2010 7:44 pm

    haha you’re close with twitter! I just saw that, actually… Jennie isn’t such a common spelling over here, too!

    I just e-mailed you the letter I got, it’s slightly different🙂

    my twitter is jennie_in_japan, haha. pretty close! feel free to add xXx

  10. elinchan permalink
    January 23, 2010 7:54 am

    Just had to say that I love your blog. ^^
    How did you get the jog as an english teacher?

  11. elinchan permalink
    January 23, 2010 7:55 am

    Wow… I really suck at spelling. I meant job and not jog.😄

  12. January 23, 2010 3:49 pm

    Thanks Elinchan! ^_^
    Yours is *great* too~~!~
    I left a link on your blog about the teaching position!

  13. Terrence permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:52 pm

    I did the PPD (mantoux test) today. Hurt a little, but no lasting effects. I have to keep the arm out of water for the next couple days before I go back. It cost me $30.

Leave a Reply

