Skip to content

ビザの申請書 (2)! Visa Application part 2!

January 21, 2010

Here is an update on how my visa application process is, er… proceeding. ((vocabulary fail?))

Right now, I have submitted everything I can and I am now waiting to receive my Certificate of Eligibility.

What is a certificate of eligibility?
A Certificate of Eligibility is issued before a visa application by a regional immigration authority under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Justice as evidence that the applicant fulfills various conditions of the Immigration Control Act, including those certifying that the activity in which the foreigner wishes to engage in Japan is valid and comes under a status of residence (excluding Temporary Visitor Status).
The Certificate of Eligibility has the advantage of reducing the time required to obtain a visa and complete immigration procedures, since a foreigner in possession of such a certificate can probably acquire a visa at an embassy or consulate without any inquiries being made to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and, by showing the certificate to the immigration officer, obtain landing permission more easily.
An application is usually made by a proxy in Japan at the nearest regional immigration authority to the proxy’s place of residence in Japan.

Interac is my proxy. I have received confirmation that they have processed all of my preliminary paperwork and have now applied for my CoE. The CoE is going to be delivered to my home by international courier ((do you have to tip those guys?)). Once I receive it, I have to fill it all out, and then personally drop it off, along with my passport at the Japanese Consulate.

Now, I am a bit nervous because the closest Japanese Consulate is in Miami, about a 6 hour drive one way from where I live. And the rule is firm, you must drop it off in person —unless you send it via registered FedEx. Now, initally, this seems like the easiest and best solution. However, that means I have to put my passport in the mail and send it off as well. This is a very unnerving task. The risk of it getting lost, though perhaps it seems unlikely, is quite scary. And if by chance it did get lost, I would be in major trouble because reapplying for a passport would take weeks that I don’t have. And I would be quite stuck, unable to enter Japan because I have no passport.

I still think that FedEx is the best option, it just isn’t ideal. What would you do?

Also, another thing that is making me a bit uneasy is how narrow the window of time for all of this paperwork to be filed is. I just received an e-mail from the Tokyo office today telling me that they expect to receive my CoE back in their offices around February 16. I should look for it to arrive here in Florida sometime after the third week in February.

HUH?

I trust Interac, I know they do this stuff everyday. It just seems like that is cutting it a little close to me.
As of right now, I am tentatively scheduling myself for an arrival date around March 18 in Japan. That leaves only about 3 weeks for the CoE to be processed at the Consulate here in the United States, and then to be sent back to Japan, and be further processed there, and then to have my visa sent to me in the States. *sigh* I’m nervous. I’m sure it will work out… but I’m still nervous.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 11:18 pm

    lol, this story sounds familiar. Same thing happened to me last year but everything came together nicely and I got my CoE just in time for me to get my VISA application in. Think there was a 2 day gap. It really felt like i was jumping into the unknown but if the worst happens you can enter on a tourist visa and let Interac sort it out when you arrive.
    Remember: deep breathes.

Leave a Reply

