Skip to content

電話する。Phone call.

January 20, 2010

Once again, from my e-mail inbox to you: another Interac update!

RE:Interac Co., Ltd – Japanese Language Level Check Spring 2010‏

Dear Jennifer,

Hello,
Thank you for your prompt reply.

We’ll try to contact you between 8p.m. and 11p.m. next Wednesday (Jan 27th) on your time.

We look forward to speak to you.

Best regards,
Hori



怖いですよ! I am so scared!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 4:55 am

    Grrr! Why are Naruto episodes being automatically generated as related posts?!? >_<

  2. Terrence permalink
    January 25, 2010 3:43 pm

    Hello Schock Sensei!

    Hori-san phoned me last night. She spoke with me in English for a little and then went right into the questions. They were actually not too bad; I understood most of what she asked (albeit at times very slowly leaving me to make a strained ‘eeto’, and I had to ask her to repeat), and fumbled my way with some answers. The level was pretty much beginner-intermediate. She was very friendly about it, responding to what I had said with understanding, and ennuciated the questions slowly.

    I know you’re humble about it, but your Japanese is very good, so you’ll do very well!

  3. January 25, 2010 6:52 pm

    Awwwh, thanks for the info!
    –May I cheat a little and ask what kind of questions she asked?
    And how did the conversation end…?

  4. Terrence permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:23 am

    I don’t recall the whole conversation, and I might have gotten a few questions mis-interpreted, but here’s some of what I remember:

    Firstly, she asked what my name was after introducing herself.

    (The order gets a bit mixed up after this. Japanese makes me head spin)

    She asked me how the weather was where I live after that. (ex. 暑いか寒いですか?)

    For how long did I study Japanese and where.

    What I did yesterday, today, and what would I do tomorrow.

    If I had ever been to Kyoto. (ex. 行ったことがありますか?)

    What my favorite Japanese food is, and where I go for it.

    What I want to do in Japan.

    There were more, but those should give you an idea.
    At the end, we had some small talk in English for a couple minutes. She asked me if this was the first time I had spoken to a Japanese person on the phone. Obvious ‘yes’ from me (I mentioned I was 緊張する during the question part) and I told her how it was hard for me to practice where I live. I didn’t want to hold her up so I told her thank you, she said that she ‘looks forward to my coming to Japan to work with the company’ or something along those lines, and we said ‘bye bye’.

    I don’t think you have to worry like I said! I fumbled through with some very short answers and forgot to use keigo like I wanted to after the first question, but she was understanding about it all.

    • January 26, 2010 7:13 pm

      Thanks so much… you’ve helped me a ton!
      As a point of interest, what level of Japanese did you say you spoke on your application with Interac? Intermediate?

  5. Terrence permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:29 pm

    Well, on the first resume online, I put 20-100 hours and ‘beginner’ overall. On the second resume (the 履歴書) I put ‘beginner’, but I mentioned I had studied in college up to ‘intermediate’ for four semesters on both of them. I wonder if she adjusts the questions depending on your level? I would think she’d use similar questions for everyone first and be able to discern your ability from that.

  6. January 26, 2010 9:36 pm

    Yeah–. My phone call is TOMORROW! >_<
    *sigh*
    I'll post about how it went.

    Are you slated to go in March too? Or did you get a deferment e-mail for August?
    I hope we can all meet up in Tokyo for training!

  7. Terrence permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:45 pm

    I’ll bet you’re toki doki! Waiting by the phone, studying verbs…

    I’m still on for March too. I think everyone in our group is still going that time from what I could decipher. The second set of seminars after ours were for backups and August I think.

    Hopefully, we’ll see familiar faces amongst the new ones🙂

  8. January 26, 2010 9:50 pm

    I’m excited but scared haha.
    I wonder how long after they’ve assessed our Japanese level will they be telling us our placements.
    That is seriously the ONLY thing we really care about now isn’t it? haha
    I also want my arrival date confirmed so I can go ahead and buy my ticket!
    *squeeee*

Leave a Reply

