Skip to content

いつ? When?

January 20, 2010

Wow– the Interac updates are coming in quickly now.
It’s really crazy to think about how soon everything is happening. I’m not quite sure I believe it all.

This is not as exact an update as I would like, but I’ll take it.

Interac Co., Ltd -‏

From: Stephen Madsen
Wed 1/20/10 4:10 PM

Dear Jennifer,

6) When do I buy my plane ticket? When am I supposed to be in Japan? When does training start? Who pays for transportation once I am in Japan?
There are no hard or fast rules because each year the dates are different, but as a general rule of thumb, you will be expected to arrive in Japan between March 18th-25th. Almost everyone will be asked to be in Japan no later than March 28th. As I mentioned before, there are several different training groups, so the best I can give you is that window of time as a fairly standard estimate. Training will be for 3-4 days this year and will start the day after you arrive. You will then go out to your assignment location. You are responsible for paying your own transportation to the training center. Interac is then responsible for paying your transportation to get to your final destination. Please speak with your trainer or managing consulting about this when you arrive. School usually starts around April 5th each year.
If you wish to go to Japan early the head office tries to accommodate you, but the rule of thumb is to arrive about 7 to 10 days prior to training. Anything more than this and you are cutting it too close with your visas. But before you go over earlier, PLEASE contact the head office and ask permission BEFORE you consider arriving early. Also, keep in mind that no one will be there to pick you up at the airport and you will be responsible for making your way to the training center on your own.

The last part really interested me. Going over a week early? It would give me good time to adjust, hang out, and see a few things. I’m wondering if I may do this. My friend Makiko will be staying in Tokyo in March, visiting from Fukuoka. It would be nice to visit with her! I would just need to stay at someone’s house for a few nights though… and I would need a ride from Tokyo Narita. Hmmm… I’ll have to think about this.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 8:14 am

    uwah!

    I saw this on your blog yesterday and assumed it was a personal e-mail of yours that they answered… >..<

  2. January 21, 2010 8:21 am

    It was definitely a bit confusing.
    They sent an e-mail talking about those of us who were asked to wait until August to come. I had no idea what was going on in the beginning, because I didn’t think it pertained to me… I still don’t think it does.
    Then they just gave a huge chunk of information that I had already received (which they said might be the case).
    But then they brought up s few new paragraphs about the tentative dates and such, as well as the possibility of arriving early.

    If they don’t send you the same e-mail soon, let me know and I can just forward mine to you if you like. I only posted the bare minimum of info on here.

    xox

Leave a Reply

