Skip to content

緊張するよ!I’m so nervous!

January 19, 2010

Another e-mail from Interac today:

Interac Co., Ltd – Japanese Language Level Check Spring 2010

Dear Jennifer,
We are currently working to find a suitable position for you and as part of this process we will be calling you to check your Japanese language skill level.
The level-check will be a short conversation with a Japanese native speaker. You will be asked a series of common questions that will begin very easily and get progressively more difficult as the conversation progresses.
This is not intended to catch you out in any way and is not something that you should be nervous about, it is simply part of the process to determine what kind of position best suits you as various Boards of Education in Japan have differing needs and requests. We are looking to match your personal requests along with our client needs as best as we possibly can.

Oh this isn’t something to be nervous about is it?
Too late.

がんばりますよ!I’m going to do my best!

I usually understand things pretty well in Japanese, however I get shy and nervous so easily. Then the big problem starts: I second guess myself at what I’m hearing and thinking. Then I begin to ramble nervously and awkwardly in English. Bad bad bad.
I’m just going to have to prepare myself as best I can.

Back to my 500 Japanese Verbs book!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 2:44 am

    Good luck! I think some BOEs ask for Japanese skills and some don’t. Luckily mine didn’t.
    Looking forward to your post about the Japanese phone call.

  2. January 20, 2010 5:25 am

    As far as I remember, the better your nihongo level, the more likely you are to be placed in a more urban area in the Kanto or Kansai regions. Considering that I have family in Osaka and loads of friends around Saitama and Tokyo, that’s what I’m hoping for. Though I know this is a rare placement and your nihongo has to be pretty sharp. –So I feel like my entire world is riding on this phone call!

    I’ll be updating as soon as I know anything~~!~

  3. January 20, 2010 5:57 pm

    You will do swimmingly! I’m sure of it! 🙂

  4. January 20, 2010 5:59 pm

    that previous commment was Me, Beverly, by the way!!! haha

  5. January 20, 2010 10:26 pm

    haha Beverly! How did you get logged in as me? Hmmm, I must have left myself logged in on your computer.
    ._. sorry!

  6. Bill permalink
    January 21, 2010 7:49 am

    You’ll do fine, don’t worry…ganbatte ganbatte!!!!
    woohoo we’re both cheering for you!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

