Skip to content

いってらっしゃい!Have a safe trip!

January 13, 2010

Today will be a post about Japanese phrases, wrapped around the context of a personal story.

Bye bye Australia!

My cousins Bill and Shiori-chan are leaving Australia today for good.
They are going back to Japan! They’re going to be in Osaka for the next eight months to a year. A lot is going to be happening for them! They’ve got to move into their new apartment, and then in February, they’re going to be having the next ultrasound to find out if the baby is a boy or a girl! ((Personally, I’m sort of hoping for a little girl. I’d love to spoil my little niece with cute things!)) I’m very excited for them and am wishing them safe travels!

日本語のレッスン - Japanese Lesson

In Japanese, there are several different phrases associated with greetings and basic comings and goings. Some of these are a little difficult to translate because in English there is no direct equivalent, but I’ll do my best to translate the literal meanings as well as the contextual meanings.

いってきます (ittekimasu) – Direct Meaning: I’ll go and come back.
Contextual Meaning: I’m off! See you later.

いってらっしゃい (itterasshai) – Direct Meaning: Please go and come back.
Contextual Meaning: Have a safe trip! Be careful. See you later.

ただいま (tadaima) – Direct Meaning: Here I am, presently.
Contextual Meaning: I’m back. I’m home.

お帰りなさい (okaerinasai, *often casually shortened to okaeri*) – Direct Meaning: Return
Contextual Meaning: Welcome home!

So I just want to say to my darling cousins, いってらっしゃい!気をつけてね。

10 Comments leave one →
  1. eaglet86 permalink
    January 15, 2010 1:53 pm

    I use all four of those comments every weekday at the office! And soon you will too!

  2. January 19, 2010 7:42 pm

    Hi Jenn, nice to meet you!

    haha, I saw you on the Interac site and was going to comment telling you that you have an amazing name, but thought that would be a bit weird!

    It’s a shame we’re not on the same blog provider, but I’m going to pop a link to your blog on mine if that’s okay? I’ll wait til you reply before I do it, though🙂 I can access yours easier then🙂 Also, who knows, we could end up in the same area!

    yoroshiku~

    Jennie x

  3. January 19, 2010 7:43 pm

    oh… by Interac site I meant group on facebook… silly me >.<

    • January 19, 2010 7:49 pm

      haha It totally understood what you meant! ~_^

      Thank you for the name compliment lol. I like your blog’s name! Very similar, ne?
      Yes, feel free to pop up a link and I’m going to add you to my blogroll too!
      Where did you ask for top placement choices?
      Even if we end up sort of far away… (which would be ashame! Why not confuse those poor nihonjin with more Jenn/Jennie’s in one place! haha)
      we’ll still be able to meet up in Tokyo for sure! YAY!

      xoxo Jenn❤

  4. January 19, 2010 7:59 pm

    yaaay I did it😀

    my myspace, twitter and everything else is jennieinjapan, but since I’m going back I figured I’d make a new one, hence jennieinjapanagain! I’m secretly a Jennifer too, though.

    I put my preferences on the website when we signed up ages and ages ago as pretty much the middle of Honshu, really. At the interview she only asked a little bit about preferences and I said working from Kanto out is my preference, but as long as I’m on Honshu I’ll be happy! I’m not sure if they take the website bit into account. What did you do for your preferences?

    I lived in Kawasaki and studied in Tokyo before so I don’t mind if I don’t get Kanto, I just want to be around lots of other ALTs and have a good social life!

    I hope we all have Tokyo training at the same time, karaoke plans🙂

    Jennie x

    • January 19, 2010 8:05 pm

      Karaoke is a go~~!~❤ So excited already!

      Actually, my interviewer asked me a lot about my preferences at the interview.
      (But I think this is because I have soooo many family and friends in Japan already.)

      My top choice is the Kanto area –specifically Saitama, or near Chiba or Kanagawa.
      But my family is in Osaka… so I'm fine with going anywhere in Kansai as well.
      I also really like Shizuoka –specifically Hamamatsu. I also said Fukuoka is fine if I have to be off Honshu.

      I think we should have training at the same time… to me, it would make sense logistically. haha

  5. January 19, 2010 8:16 pm

    oooh, so are you part Japanese? Or do you have expat family? They asked me where I have friends in Japan, then they asked if Japan or teaching was more important to me. I think she was trying to catch me out🙂

    They said in one of the e-mails that those of us who drive WILL have a driving placement, so that doesn’t give me much hope for an urban placement… as long as I have lots of people to have fun with I’ll be alright! And as long as I skip Hokkaido, I’d like to visit, but I’m trying to escape the cold weather from the UK😀

    I just noticed you’re vegetarian too, how do you survive in Japan? When I lived in Kawasaki I could get loads of foreign stuff like pasta etc to survive on, but I’m not sure about rural places!

    Jen x

  6. January 19, 2010 8:24 pm

    Well, as far as being a vegetarian goes — I’m going to go pescetarian soon. Meaning, I’ll only allow myself to eat fish. (This is going to be a little painful for me, as I went vegetarian for animal rights reasons. But I know I won’t be able to survive in Japan without fish.) Plently of rice, veggies, and tofu to eat though! ^^

    Yeah..driving. Sigh. Not too keen on that. Though I’ve heard that people drive in places like Hamamatsu too, which isn’t really rural at all. It’s more suburban, which I’m okay with. I just don’t want to end up on some remote island near Shikoku where there isn’t even a konbini around. haha
    –I want to visit Hokkaido too!!!! But yeah, don’t want to be placed there year round.

    My family in Osaka is half Japanese, half expat. ^_^

  7. January 19, 2010 8:48 pm

    I kinda wish I was vegetarian for moral reasons… I’m quite simply, a big kid and eating anything dead kind of disgusts me. I’m going to have a lot of trouble with eating school lunches, I think! I completed relied on gaijin food before and have never even used chopsticks! I’m going to fail at life😀

    As for Japanese, I studied it as my minor at Uni, and did the year abroad at Keio Uni… I did sit JLPT level 2 in dec 2008, but I failed by about 10 points… I did another year at Uni doing Japanese since then, but it’s been 6 months since I graduated! So.. hmm… not great, but not terrible either. How do you feel yours is?

    Also, what are you doing about clothes for work? I’m not sure if it’s 100% suits or if we can get away with smart stuff that doesn’t make us look like an OL… I have a few ‘body mods’ that I have to hide, so I’m having to think really carefully!

    Jen x

  8. January 19, 2010 9:07 pm

    haha I saw you have some pretty tatoos on facebook. ^^
    I took out my nose piercing not too long ago –miss it! But I felt it was necessary to teach in Japan. I don’t think we have to wear suits all the time. That would be for the men. I think just that pretty, professional, smart looking outfits are fine. For my interview, I wore a knee length black pencil skirt, a turquoise turtleneck and a coordinating gray and turquoise argyle cardigan (with stockings and high heels). My recruiter said this was fine. –I really don’t want to look like an OL.

    I am bringing a few outfits that I feel I can mix and match and provide myself with a little variety. I am loathed to look like an OL. haha😛 (And I’m bringing a few cute party dresses for nights out on the town. While we’re in Tokyo let’s please to party in Shibuya okay?)

    You’ve never used chopsticks?!?! O_O haha wow! Good luck! They aren’t hard! Though isn’t funny that all nihonjin are simply stunned when anyone not born in Asia can use chopsticks?? That always cracks me up.

    Wow! You only missed the JLPT by about 10 points? Soooo close! Are you going to try and take it again? My nihongo is — hmm, hard to rate I think. haha I know Japanese casually, through hearing and speaking. I haven’t studied it in school, so my kanji is very poor. I can read and write in hiragana and katana just fine though. When it comes to comprehension — on casual topics, not like scholarly, academic material, I grasp the context of what’s going on at about 60%, speaking, about 40%

    I have a loooong way to go!

Leave a Reply

