Skip to content

本屋。Bookstore.

January 12, 2010

My house is about to become a bookstore.
This is not the happy news that it would initially seem to be. ((I would simply love to live in an old library or bookstore. What a thrilling idea! All of those books just sitting there, waiting for me to choose from daily. It sort of makes me want to run away and move into one secretly. Hey! That reminds me of one of my favorite adolescent books ever! From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. But I digress!))

In order to move to Japan, I need two things. Money, obviously being the most important. Room in my suitcases for absolute essentials is the other.

An old picture of me with my collection.

Plainly put, I own a lot of books. A lot.

I would never have imagined that one day, I’d have to let some of these books go. I always joke that I buy books the way most women buy shoes. But what can you really expect with an old literature major? I am nothing but a displaced scholar trying to transition to a life outside of academia, but it’s proving difficult. I’m nothing without books. How ironic that in order to put my hard earned Bachelor’s Degree in English to good use, I need to sell the very things that made me passionate about English in the first place.

I know a few facts.
1. My apartment in Japan is going to be tiny.
2. Books are heavy and heavy things are expensive to ship.
3. Light things are already expensive to ship to Japan, heavy things are out of the question.
((And finally…))
4. I am really poor and don’t have anywhere near the amount of money I need to move to Japan.

So I am turning my home into a bookstore and having a sale. Thankfully I know a lot of other people in the field of literature, so I hope I can generate some good interest. I’m going to have coffee and tea and little cookies around for the people who come to the sale. I hope to make a little bit of money. Though I plan on selling the books for a good deal. I hope this turns out well.

I can assure you I’m going to cry myself to sleep that night.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. eaglet86 permalink
    January 12, 2010 12:08 pm

    Aw man, I hated parted with my books too, but fortunately my parents offered to keep them all for me. I hope that you will be able to keep you favourite-ist of favourites (how can one part with a good book though?).

  2. January 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    I really tip my hat to you for doing this. It’s going to be hard, but you’re doing whatever necessary to reach your goal. I respect that! I’ll be more than happy to help, just let me know when you’re doing this.

  3. Amarok permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:55 pm

    Cheer up, a lot of other people are in the same boat too! I’m also one of the new Interac recruits headed over in the spring, and I just started going crazy trying to sell all of my beloved books and games and other stuff I own. I’m trying to think of it as getting a fresh start rather than, uh… losing everything I own because I can’t take it over. 😀

Leave a Reply

