Skip to content

Engrish.

January 9, 2010

Nothing will ever make me laugh more than the butchering of the English language by the Japanese.
(It is just as funny as people who proudly display tatoos of Chinese and Japanese kanji characters which are utterly wrong.)

For example, this little beauty.
The Japanese reads “Do not throw garbage away here if you do not live in this building.”
The Engrish speaks for itself.

What’s funnier than reading Engrish?
HEARING IT SPOKEN!

 This little clip is of two of my favorite people in the world: Aiba Masaki and Ohno Satoshi (two of the silliest memebers of Arashi). Darling boys cannot speak a word of English to save their lives, though they try. This will never fail to make me laugh. (You’ll understand even ifyou don’t speak Japanese)

–At least Aiba got one out of three right!

If you’re ever in need of a good distraction, head over to Engrish.com to see a display of poorly written English signs from all over the world (though mainly the best matierial comes from Asia).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 7:10 am

    Love it! Here in China it’s just as bad… or WORSE. I still love it.

  2. January 11, 2010 4:15 pm

    Hey Dan! 🙂
    Oh gosh… I’ve heard China is hysterical! I bet you’ve seen some of the funniest T-Shirts ever! The Japanese ones never cease to amaze me.
    Chinese is insanely difficult though because they just don’t have any tenses in their language! (no matter what dialect, from what I understand.) How are YOU doing with the language?

Leave a comment