Skip to content

ただいま! I’m home!

December 26, 2009
tags:

I hope you all enjoyed your Christmas! I hope that your days are merry and bright. ♥
I had a lovely Christmas morning with my roommate. We celebrated by making a sumptuous holiday breakfast! Then she drove me to the airport and all the while we sang our hearts out along with Coldplay. It was a great drive.

I waited at the aiport for a little while. I was happy that it was rather empty and check-in and security lines moved smoothly and efficiently. I even ran into Santa Claus! He was taking pictures with all the children who were waiting outside their gates to board planes off to wherever… He even filled my purse with candy canes!

After my chance holiday encounter, I sipped a peppermint mocha in the terminal, people watched, and read for a bit.
I love the airport. It always means I’m going somewhere and that my travel bug is about to be sated, even if for just a short while. I find myself planning more trips than I can afford while I lounge around waiting to board my current flight. But I enjoy the daydreams and hope that one day I can fill my passport with more stamps.

Finally I got on my plane and then read for two and half hours inbetween pausing to look out at the clouds and allowing my stomach to unwind itself from the patches of turbulence. Then the foggy horizon of Philadelphia came into view through the low lying clouds covering the city. I felt myself smiling as I saw the snow lined banks of the Delaware River beneath me.

It’s always so weird to me that I can go from one location to another in such a short amount of time. Then I become slightly brooding and existential as I ponder where I’ve come from and where I’m going. Aaaah, the joys of the contemplative traveler…

No matter how many times I’ve done it, or continue to do so, everytime I land in Pennsylvania, my eyes light up, my smile widens, and I feel like I’m five years old again for a few seconds in time. My heart surveys the familiar landscape with more than physical vision… and I am lost in my Nanna and my hometown and my memories…

ただいま! I’m home!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

