Skip to content

郵便局! Post Office!

December 16, 2009

For me, Christmas means all sorts  of trips to the post office. I have friends and family all over the country and all over the world as well! Compound that with my continual drop offs of extra visa paperwork and such… well, let’s just say that with me going to  the post office 3 times a week, people are beginning to remember me. >_< waaaaaah はずかしい!How embarrassing!

Today I’m dropping off yet another batch of information and forms for the Interac Tokyo office. (This time I bought a cushy little envelope.)

I have to send in another set of passport photos. Thank goodness I had the foresight to go ahead and order an extra set when I initially got them done. The one thing that took a little longer was getting another offical transcript from my university. I’m out $7.00 for it too! –Even after all this time, even after graduation, it looks like I’m still going to be paying that school more money throughout my life. *sigh* The college student’s plight, I suppose. (Sometimes I really wish I had been born in Europe! Free tuition for all!) *grumble grumble*

But one of the more fun aspects of the holidays is sending cards and presents! I have five states and three countries involved in my shipping this year! I have packages coming from Hong Kong to Pennsylvania. Cards going from Florida to New Hampshire and New York. I’m sending things to Australia and Japan, and I think I’m getting something from Korea… (I love feeling well traveled!)

The other night I put on the most fun Christmas music I could and I began writing out all of my Christmas cards. I got the cutest pack of 32 –and I was stunned when I used them all! There’s nothing quite as nice as going to your mailbox and being surprised. Rather than bills, you find a heart warming sentiment from someone you love dearly, but haven’t spoken to for far too long. It certainly makes for days being merry and bright[er].

I just know that the mail clerk is going to quip some funny remark when he sees the very special card I’m sending to a very special someone… hahaha Oh well. The look on this person’s face when they see this will make standing in line worthwhile…. even though I won’t be there to see it. I’ll get a call immediately after it’s opened… and the happy voice on the line will make the insanity of the post office at Christmastime a distant memory.

In the words of Judy Garland,

Here we are as in olden days,
Happy golden days of yore.
Faithful friends who are dear to us
Gather near to us once more.

Through the years
We all will be together,
If the Fates allow

Hang a shining star upon the highest bough.
And have yourself A merry little Christmas now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eaglet86 permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:13 pm

    Don’t forget that you will need another passport sized photo for your Alien Registration Card when you get to Japan… One of my friends forgot to keep a spare, and it was a nightmare.
    Also, are you planning to drive in Japan? Because getting a licence for Americans in Japan after 1 year is a pain. Thank goodness the International Driver’s Permit is good for the first year!

  2. December 16, 2009 11:35 pm

    Oh goodness! I didn’t know about having to bring my own picture for my ARC! Noted! ありがとうね!That’s on my to-do list for tomorrow! (must fix hair….) haha

    I’m sure where I’ll be placed yet… ugggh. I hate waiting. But I press on…! ^-^
    If I need a car, I’ll be getting one from the company. Though if at all possible, I’ll be relying on bicycle and train. –And I’ve heard about the disasters for Americans trying to get licenses in Japan. I’m not looking forward to it, but I’ll do what is necessary. がんばりますよ!

Leave a comment