Skip to content

おめでとう!Congratulations!

November 29, 2009

I am so happy to announce that my dear friend and English student Sono-chan passed the English Language Skills section of her exam! I have been tutoring her for three months now and she has made amazing progress in such a short amount of time. I feel so fulfilled. I love teaching! The best moment is seeing someone’s eyes light up when they finally understand a concept and are able to recognize it, reproduce it and explain it. Sono-chan took the FTCE for the first time a year ago and struggled with the English Language Skills, Essay, and Reading portions. I remember her telling me that she would never pass in a million years. She felt so discouraged and frustrated with the level of difficulty of the material. But I was determined!

Slowly, we began tackling the basics of sentence structure and punctuation. We worked on identifying dependent and independent clauses, subjects and objects, verbs and adjectives. She threw herself into studying. I was so proud of the effort she was putting in then and now it has paid off. What a wonderful Christmas present! Congratulations!

おめでとう!よくできました!

PASS!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

