Skip to content

山Pが最高です!Yamapi is the best!

November 19, 2009

One of my favorite artists is a young Japanese singer named 山下智久 Yamashita Tomohisa. Most people just call him Yamapi. He just released a new single in Japan, and already I’ve become obsessed with it. I immediately downloaded it and made it my ringtone. (If you try calling me, and I don’t answer, it’s probably because I’m paying too much attention to the sweet piano melody and his beautiful voice!)

The song is so sad… which is made obvious by the English title of the song, Loveless. But there is something simplistic and sweet in the song as well. It isn’t a melodramatic ballad, bemoaning love lost. Everyone who I’ve played it for, even if they don’t speak Japanese, says the melody stays in their head all day. And don’t even get me started on Yamapi’s voice…! That man is going to be the death of me, I swear. His voice is smooth, cool, quiet, and yet full of emotion in the subtlest way. I’m embedding the new PV for everyone to watch.

An interesting note about the video is that it was filmed in New York City. Yamapi was in America! Too bad I didn’t know about this earlier. I would have gone back home to PA for a little while and driven up to NYC and stalked him… hahaha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

